Skjold Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Skjold, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, |
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Records begin in 1743. Skjold clerical district included the parishes Skjold, Tysvær and Vats with Vårenes chapel. Tysvær parish became its own clerical district in 1848. Earlier records were burned on 14 Oct. 1786.
Digital images of the church books are available at Digitalarkivet.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1664-1666 Census (Manntall)
Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 Skjold Microfilm
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.
- Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666 Skjold Microfilm
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.
- 1701 Census (Manntall)
Manntall 1701 Skjold Microfilm
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.
Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database
- 1801 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801 for Skjold Microfilm
1801-telling for Schiold Database
- 1865 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketælling 31 December 1865 for Skjold Microfilm
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.
1865-telling for Skjold Database
- 1875 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 31te desember 1875 for Skjold. Microfilm FHL INTL Film 273363 and 173364 vols. 152a and 152b.
This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
- 1900 Census (Folketellingen)
Folketellingen for Norge den 3dje desember 1900 for Skjold Microfilm
This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.
1900-telling for Skjold Database
- 1910 Census (Folketellingen]
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
For 1666-1795 the probates are found in Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district.
For 1793-1901 they are found in Karmsund judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1692-1812 are found in Karmsund deanery.
Availability[edit | edit source]
Skjold police station
*1887-1965 death protocol Digitalarkivet
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
Farms and families of Skjold, Norway.
Østrem, Nils Olav, "Skjold," Stavanger, Norway: Vindafjord kommune, 1999. 948.31/S11 D2s vols. 1 and 2 FHL INTL Book
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
21 Aadnenes, 28 Aarek, 41 Alnedal, 4 Apallevik, 55 Asbjørnshaug, 18 Aukland, 29 Aursland, 69 Austreim nedre, 66 Austreim øvre
90 Baasviken, 72 Bjerge, 10 Bjoland, 59 Bjordal indre, 19 Brattestø, 39 Bueviken
42 Dagsland, 40 Dalen, 7 Dueland, 45 Døviken
63 Egge, 30 Eikeviken, 68 Elleflaat, 9 Erland, 47 Ersland,
14 Fikstveit, 86 Finshus, 44 Fjelleim, 38 Flatnes, 73 Frøvik
8 Gaupaas, 32 Glette, 24 Grinde, 24 Groven,
88 Haaland, 34 Haavik, 37 Haga, 36 Haganes, 25 Halleland, 52 Haraldseid, 80 Hatlestad, 52 Haugen, 70 Haugen, 79 Havnen, 49 Heien, 91 Hesthammer, 56 Hokel
83 Ikdal, 32 Indgjerden
51 Kalstveit, 45 Kalveland, 76 Kirketeigen, 5 Klubben, 20 Krekene, 94 Kreppene midtre, 26 Kringeland, 49 Kroen, 27 Kvitenes
78 Langeland, 77 Langelandsvik, 48 Li, 33 Lilland, 23 Lilleskog, 85 Lilleskog, 92 Lindanger
54 Malesæter, 87 Mehus, 43 Mortveit, 84 Munkhus 50 Mæland
12 Nes, 13 Neseim, 12 Nesøen
57 Risanger, 3 Romseland, 67 Rossebø,
82 Sagen, 6 Skjeljeviken, 74 Skogen nordre, 62 Smedsvik, 64 Soleim, 81 Sponevik, 17 Stakland, 15 Steinbru, 32 Storeleitet, 45 Strand, 6 Strøm, 16 Stølen, 32 Sundfør, 46 Svineklev, 1 Svineli nedre, 71 Sørhus, 20 Søvik
31 Taarhaugen, 35 Tosvold, 65 Tveit, 31 Tveit indre
30 Vaag, 52 Vaagen, 53 Vaagen søndre, 11 Vaare, 22 Vaggeli
16 Vatland, 49 Vestre, 35 Viken, 61 Viken, 92 Viken,
96 Yrke, 97 Yrkevaagen
49 Ødegaarden, 89 Østeinstad, 98 Østerli
Skjold Gard og ætt I
Austrheim, Bjerga, Eggja, Elleflot, Frøvik, Hamn, Hatlastad Haugen, Kyrkjeteig, Longaland, Longalandsvik, Rossabø, Skjold prestegard, Skogen, Smedvik (Beitå), Solheim, Sørhus, Tveit, Vikjå,
Skjold Gard og ætt II
Anndal, Asbjørnshaug, Dagsland, Dalen, Ersland, Fjellheim, Haga, Haganes, Haraldseid, Håvik, Hokel, Kalstveit, Kalvaland, Li, Malasete, Meland, Mortveit, Risanger, Svinakleiv, Tosvoll, Vågen, Vestrå, Risanger
Tysvær: Skjoldastraumen og Grinde
Apalvik, Aukland, Aursdland, Austerli, Bådsvik, Bakken (Vaggli), Bjoland, Brattestø, Breidal, Dueland, Erland, Fikstveit, Finshus, Gaupås, Grinde, Håland, Halleland, Hesthammar, Ikdal, Klubben, Kreppene, Kringeland, Kvitanes, Lilland, Lindanger, Litlaskog, Mehus, Munkhus, Nes, Nesheim, Romsaland, Saga, Søvik, Sponavik, Stakland, Steinbru, Stølsvik, Straum, Sundfør, Svinali, Tveit indra, Våg, Vårå, Vatland, Yrkje, Yrkjevågen, Årek, Østenstad, Øygarden,