Skien Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy
(Redirected from Skien Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Skien, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
| Skien Parish | |
|---|---|
| Jurisdictions | |
| Stift/Bispedømme/ Diocese |
add here |
| Prosti | add here |
| Len 1599-1660 | Bratsberg |
| Amt 1689-1919 | 1660-1919: Bratsberg |
| Fylke 1919-Present | Telemark |
| Region | add here |
| Prestegjeld | N/A |
| Kommune | add here |
| Skifteretten | add here |
| Tinglag | N/A |
| Fogderi | N/A |
| Sorenskriveri | N/A |
| Skipreide | add here |
Contents
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Skien clerical district contains parish registers from Skien parish. Included Mælum and Solum until 1738. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1659-1931.
- Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It covers Gjerpen clerical district included Gjerpen parish and Skien parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It covers Gjerpen clerical district, including Gjerpen parish and Skien parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1801: The 1801 census for Skien City is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1801 Norway Census, 1801 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1815: A special 1815 census for Skien clerical district exists and is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1825: A special 1825 census for Skien clerical district exists and is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1835: A special 1835 census for Skien clerical district exists and is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1865: The 1865 census for Skien clerical is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It is available also in print 948.1 A1 no. 113. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1875: The 1875 census for Skien clerical district is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1875 Norway Census, 1875 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1885: A special 1885 census for Skien clerical district exists and is online as a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1891: The 1891 census for Skien clerical district is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1900: The 1900 census for Skien clerical district is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1910: The 1910 census is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- The census of 1865, 1875, 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Skien city district
*1693-1880 Family History Library
*1693-1880 Digitalarkivet
Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet
Probate Register for Skien 1666-1808 at Digitalarkivet.
