To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Skelton in Cleveland, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Skelton in Cleveland, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Skelton in Cleveland, Yorkshire
Redundandant All Saints Skelton in Cleveland Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langbaurgh
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Guisborough
Registration District Guisbrough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567; Separate registers exist for Brotton beginning 1641
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Brotton beginning 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Skelton All Saints is an Ancient parish in Cleveland in the North riding of Yorkshire.The church built in 1785 is now redundant. It has been designated by English Heritage as a Grade II* listed building and is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. Other places in the parish included: Stanghow, Stranghow, Kilton, Manlees Green, Mooresholm cum Gerrick, Great Moorsholm, Skinningrove, Moorseholm, Girrick, Brotton, Moorsholm cum Girrick, Saltburn, Skelton with Manless Green, and Moorsholm.

SKELTON (All Saints), or Skelton near Guisborough or Skelton in Cleveland, is a parish, in the union of Guisborough, E. division of the liberty of Langbaurgh, North Riding of York; containing, with the township of Moorsholm with Girrick, and that of Stanghoe, 1053 inhabitants, of whom 628 are in Skelton township, 4 miles northeast by north from Guisborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Skelton in Cleveland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Skelton in Cleveland Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-2005
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Guisborough Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 113-115. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk