Skeffling, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Skeffling, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Skeffling, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holderness
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Patrington
Registration District Patrington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1585
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Holderness
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SKEFFLING (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Patrington, S. division of the wapentake of Holderness, East Riding of York, 4½ miles SE by E from Patrington. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1585.

Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Parishes adjacent to SKEFFLING
Welwick
East Riding
Welwick
East Riding
Hollym
East Riding
Humber Estuary
  N  
W   E
  S  
Easington
East Riding
Humber Estuary Humber Estuary
 
Easington
East Riding

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online data content from parish registers of Skeffling exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
Skeffling (1734) Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1734-1853
1734-1837
None
JOIN None

1734-1836

None

AC None
None
None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Skeffling to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Skefflington page.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 110-113. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 October 2013.