To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Skaraborg County, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Sweden Wiki Topics
Sweden Flag.gif
Beginning Research
Record Types
Sweden Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Sweden is MorrisGF and LarsonW
SE Locator Map Sweden Västra Götalands.png


Guide to Skaraborg ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

How to Do Research in Skaraborg, Sweden[edit | edit source]

Most of your genealogical research for Skaraborg will be in online church records. Methods for locating and reading them are given here.
Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History[edit | edit source]

Skaraborg County was created in 1634 when the Ståthållardömet was divided into the Counties of Skaraborg and Älvsborg. The name of the County has its origins with the authority based on the residence city of Skara. In 1660 the authority base was changed to the residence city of Mariestad and the County is sometimes referred to as Mariestad County. Skaraborg County was dissolved on Dec. 31, 1997 when it became part of Västra Götaland County. Skaraborg County was the northern part of Västergötland Province. The southern part of Västergötland Province belonged to Älvsborg County. The county letter for Skaraborg is: R

Knowing Your Locality[edit | edit source]

To search effectively, it will help if you know the farm, parish, and county where your ancestor lived. The Wiki articles Gather Family Information, Tracing Immigrant Origins, and Finding a Place of Origin in Sweden describe many strategies you can use to find this. Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Barne härad
  • Frökinds härad
  • Gudhems härad
  • Kinne härad
  • Kinnefjärdings härad
  • Kåkinds härad
  • Kållands härad
  • Laske härad
  • Leaby tingslag
  • Skånings härad
  • Slättängs tingslag
  • Vadsbo härad
  • Valla tingslag
  • Valle härad
  • Vartofta härad
  • Vilske härad
  • Viste härad
  • Åse härad

Parishes[edit | edit source]

The map below is based on 1890 county/parish boundaries.
Click here to see a larger image and parishes by number.

SegerstadStenstorpBrunnhemBrunnhemParish #5Parish #4Parish #6HagelbergRådeneNorra KyrketorpHäggumBrunnhemBorgundaStenstorpSjogerstadEdåsaVarolaParish #17VärsåsMofallaHjo LandsförsamlingParish #22FrideneFröjeredParish #26Hjo StadsförsamlingKorsbergaDalaSödra KyrketorpParish #29HömbKungslenaParish #32AcklingaVarvParish #35MularpDimboBaltakDaretorpVättakValstadÅsleOttravadBrandstorpHärjaParish #44SuntakHångsdalaÖstraSkörstorpKälveneNäsYllestadKymboUtvängstorpGustaf AdolfBottnarydKölingaredParish #57BjurbäckSandhemVistorpNorra ÅsarpNykyrkaParish #65JälaBrismeneParish #68KinnevedSmulaVartofta-ÅsakaParish #73GöteveSörbyVårkumlaLuttraFlobyMarkaFalköping StadsförsamlingKarlebyÖstra TunhemFalköping LandsförsamlingValtorpTorbjörntorpÖstra TunhemVilske - KlevaFriggeråkerGökhemUlleneTrävattnaParish #91Parish #92Parish #95FåglumParish #102Parish #101LekåsaEssungaElingLaske-VedumSödra LundbyNorra VångaGudhem BjurumBarne-ÅsakaUgglumGudhemHåkantorpSegerstadSätunaHornborgaNaumBroddetorpParish #112Norra LundbyNorra VingStenumParish #116BjärkaVinkölÖttumKvänumTråvadÖnumFyrungaSödra KedumMalmaBärebergParish #128FloTrökörnaVänersnäsSalParish #133HyringaParish #136SkarstadLängnumVaraLongLeveneSparlösaFlakebergBjärbyÅsKarabySärestadHåleSlädeneParish #149HällumSalebyUveredJungHärjevadTrässbergKållands- ÅsakaMellbyHäggesledGillstadLavadTängTunTådeneParish #166FrielTranumVälaÖrslösaSöneSkalundaRackebyStröOtterstadSunnersbergGösslundaRådaLidköpingHovbyParish #179SkallmejaVästra GerumMarumSynnerbyHasslösaLindärvaSävareHangelösaBrobyKällbySkebyHändeneSkara CitySkånings-ÅsakaParish #194IstrumLedsjöSkara CitySkärvEggbyOvaSkälvumVättlösaParish #207Parish #209Parish #201LerdalaÖglundaRydTibroBrevikRansbergVäringLocketorpLocketorpFrösveSäterBergTimmersdalaHolmestadParish #221Kinne-KlevaVästerplanaMedelplanaÖsterplanaKestadKinne-VedumBredsäterGöteneFullösaForshemBjörsäterLugnåsLåstadBöjaBinnebergHornVäringGötlundaEkeskogEkeskogParish #239Parish #241MölltorpHalnaFägreMoHjälstadKarlsborg GarnisonförsamlingUndenäsVadFlistadOdensåkerTidavadEkLeksbergSvenebyTrästenaEkbyUtbyUllervadMariestadBergaBäckFredsbergParish #261Parish #264Parish #267AmnehäradLyrestadParish #270TivedFäredÄlgaråsFinnerödjaSkaraborg map.png
About this image

Note: an asterisk (*) indicates that parish did not join Skaraborg county until 1952.
Go to the respective parish page to see what county it belonged to before 1952.

Patronymics and Naming Customs[edit | edit source]

Most Swedish surnames are patronymic. Patronymic surnames changed with each generation. Also, Swedish surnames can be changed for a variety of reasons. Understanding surname changes is more important in Swedish research than in United States or Great Britain. To prepare yourself to cope with these changes, carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records from the county of Skaraborg contain the following types of records. Click on the Swedish name of the record to link to important facts and clues that can be found in each record.


Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)[edit | edit source]

The Household Examination Records are a key source in Swedish genealogical research, not found in many other countries. Perhaps their greatest value is that they gave detailed data organized in families for each year. This is particularly helpful in sorting out the duplication of names created by the use of patronymics. The contents of a Household Examination Book varied according to time, place and the minister. As you search the books you might see:

  • The name of the farm, village, or rote (registration area).
  • Names of household members including any
pigor (female workers) or drängar (male workers).
  • Birthplace
  • Birth date or age
  • A score for catechism knowledge.
  • Dates of partaking communion.
  • Dates of participation with the Household Examination.
  • Moving information
  • Death date
  • Marriage date
  • Disciplinary notes
  • Vaccination against smallpox.
  • Reference to military conscription.

Online Records

1. Online Digital Records for Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these sites:

Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

FamilySearch Historical Records Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

The original copies of the church records before 1895 are preserved by the Naional and Regional Archives in Sweden. FamilySearch has partnered with The National Archives of Sweden to create indexes of the Swedish church records. For more detail on the contents and coverage of these records, see: Sweden Church Records, 1308 – 1940 Images Published on FamilySearch.

Ancestry.com Online Database for Sweden[edit | edit source]

Skaraborg Index and Images[edit | edit source]

Sweden Including Skaraborg[edit | edit source]

MyHeritage.com Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

ArkivDigital Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Here are links for registering, direct link to Skaraborg records, the main search page, and a library of instructional articles on Swedish genealogy methods.

SVAR[edit | edit source]

2. Microfilms of Church Records for Sweden[edit | edit source]

Microfilms of the original records used for developing the online databases are also available for research. You will find additional records that have yet to be digitized. Currently, they are being digitized, and plans are to complete that project by 2020. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
To find a microfilm:

a. Click on this link to see a list of records for Sweden, Skaraborg.
b. Click on "Places within Sweden, Skaraborg" and a list of towns and cities will open.
c. Click on the town or city you wish to search.
d. Click on "Church Records" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
e. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor.
f. Some combination of the icons shown below will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record.
FHL icons.png
Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.

Reading the Records[edit | edit source]

  • Online interactive slideshow lessons are available to help you learn to read these records:

Search Strategy and Tips[edit | edit source]

  • First find the birth and baptism record of your ancestor. Once you know his date and place of birth and his parents' names, you can locate the family in the Household Examination Records.
  • Search every Household Examination Record that your ancestor appears on (from birth to death). You will pick up valuable clues along the way, find children who died young, and establish correct family member relationships.
  • All birth, marriage, or death dates found in Household Examination Records need to be verified in the actual birth, marriage, or death records.
  • Pay attention to relationship titles, occupations, military status, and remarks. See word list for Vocabulary for Household Examination Records.
  • Dates are written in the European order of day, month, and year.
  • The Family History Library created a basic key words list to help with reading the column headings (for when they exist in the actual records.) This copy has been given out at the Nordic Reference Counter for many years. To print your own copy see: Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings