Sitka Borough, Alaska Genealogy
Guide to Sitka Borough, Alaska ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Sitka Borough, Alaska|
Location in the state of Alaska, United States Genealogy
Location of Alaska in the U.S.
|Founded||September 24, 1963|
100 Lincoln Street
Sitka, Az 99835-7563 Pho
Phone: 907-747-1812 http://www.cityofsitka.com/
Description[edit | edit source]
The Borough was name means "People on the Outside of Baranof Island". The Borough has Sitka as its seat and the Borough was created September 24, 1963. The Borough is located in the southeastern part of the state. 
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this borough.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Neighboring Boroughs[edit | edit source]
- Hoonah-Angoon Census Area, Alaska - north, northeast
- Petersburg Census Area, Alaska - southeast
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this borough:
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden name; and death date.
For general information about Alaska denominations, see the Alaska Church Records wiki page.
The Family History Library also has copies of many Alaskan church records. To find a list in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for Alaska, the borough, or the town.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Local History[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Sitka Borough, Alaska Genealogy. Borough histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alaska Local Histories.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
The first general land office was established at Sitka, Alaska in 1885. Records of subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, are filed at the office of the district recorder in each judicial district. The Family History Library has not acquired copies of Alaskan land records.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1934 - Alaska, State Archives (Juneau), Military Service Discharge Records, 1898-1934 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1940-1945 - Alaska, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1884-1991 - Alaska Naturalization Records, 1884-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1900-1972 - Alaska, State Archives (Juneau), Naturalization Records, 1900-1972 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Sitka Borough, Alaska Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Alaska newspaper information, see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Alaska Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Alaska were kept by the district courts prior to statehood. The superior court now has jurisdiction over probate matters. They are available at the archives and offices mentioned in Alaska Court Records. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Alaska.
An index with about 17,000 probate cases from the district court system from 1884 to 1960 is available online. It is arranged alphabetically. See Alaska Probate Records Index.
Public Records[edit | edit source]
- 1913-1958 - Alaska, Pioneer Home discharge index, 1913-1958 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
- Sitka Historical Society and Museum
330 Harbor Drive
Sitka, Alaska 99835
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Alaska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. The Family History Library has not filmed Alaska tax records.
Real and personal property tax records are kept at the borough's Assessors office.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Vital Statistics. This office has birth, death and marriage records since 1890's, though, many before 1930 were not registered with the Bureau. It also has divorce records since 1950. For more information, including how to find earlier records, check Alaska Vital Records.
- 1816-1959 Alaska, Vital Records, 1816-1959 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this borough. Alaska GenWeb Project, Sitka Borough, Alaska.
- The FamilySearch Catalog has some records for Sitka, Alaska.
- Sitka Borough, Alaska Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Genealogy Trails
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sitka Borough p. 49. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Prince of Wales–Hyder Census Area," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sitka,_Alaska 05/26/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Sitka Borough, Alaska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sitka_Borough,_Alaska, accessed 25 February 2019.