Sinfin Moor, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Sinfin Moor, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Sinfin Moor, Derbyshire|
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Sinfin Moor was originally an extra parochial place until the formation of a parish in 1976. It is located 3 miles SE. of Derby..
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Sinfin and Arlaston was part of the Shardlow registration district until 1968 when it transferred to Derby Registration district.
Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Sinfin Moor was originally extra parochial but was formed as a parish in 1976.
Because Sinfin Moor was extra parochial, there are no parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts or other types of church records prior to 1976.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Sinfin Moor on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Date accessed: 27 June 2013.