To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sindal Parish, Hjørring, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sindal, Hjørring, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


History[edit | edit source]

Sindal Municipality was a municipality in Denmark and it was located on the island of Vendsyssel-Thy at the top of the Jutland peninsula in northern Denmark and belonged to North Jutland County. The municipal seat was located in the town of Sindal.
On January 1, 2007 Sindal municipality ceased to exist due to The Municipality Reform of 2007 when it was merged with existing Hirtshals, Hjørring, and Løkken-Vrå municipalities to form an expanded Hjørring Municipality.
[1]

Sindal Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Aalborg Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Sindal-Astrup Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Aastrup
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Hjørring
Herred (district) Vennebjerg
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 6
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 6
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 5/490
Gods (estate) Baggesvogn gods; Vennebjerg herreds provsti; Villerup gods; Horns Herredsret; Vennebjerg Herredsret


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Affersholt, Agerledet

Baggesvogn, Baggesvogn Skov, Bolleholt, Brasholt, Bøgelund

Christianshede

Dalgaard, Dalhus

Edelsminde, Elmely, Elsig, Eskær

Favrholt, Fjelsted, Fjelstedgaard, Fruerdam, Fælbakke

Gaden, Gammel Sindal, Gildkrog, Grøndal, Grøndalshus

Hejrebakke, Horsholt, Højborg, Højsvig, Høngaarde

Ilvad

Kirkehøj, Kirklund, Kolsager, Kristiansminde

Langebakke, Langheden, Ledet, Lille Menholt, Lille Tyrsig, Lille Taagholt, Lund, Lundegaard, Lundemark

Mellemgaard, Menholt, Menholt Mark, Moskildevad

Ny Menholt, Nørgaard, Nørre Brasholt, Nørre Stokholm, Nørre Taagholt, Nørrevang

Oremosegaard, Oremose Huse

Rosenlund, Rævebakken

Sindal, Sindal Hede, Sindallund, Skoven, Skovensmark, Skovhuse, Skyttekrog, Slotved, Slotved Skov, Slotvedhus, Solvang, Sommerdal, Stokdal, Stokholm, Stoltenborg, Store Vestermark, Svinsig, Sønder Stokholm, Sønder Taagholt, Søndergaard

Teklaborg, Tjørnely, Toskelhøj, Tronsig, Tummelbakke, Tveden, Tværkær, Tværkær Huse, Tyrsig, Taagholt

Ulstedbo

Vagthøj, Vejborg, Vejborghus, Vester Brasholt, Vester Dalgaard, Vester Højen, Vester Nymark, Vestergaard, Vestermark, Vorholt Skov

Ørnhøj, Øster Brasholt, Øster Højen, Øster Nymark

Aas, Aasen, Aasens Høj

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Hjørring amt: Astrup, Bindslev, Hørmested, Mosbjerg, Mygdal, Ugilt

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, Hjørring Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Hjørring" and then select your parish.

References[edit | edit source]

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4th ed. Vol. 5, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.