Simpson County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Simpson County

Guide to Simpson County, Mississippi ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Simpson County, Mississippi
Map of Mississippi highlighting Simpson County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Founded 23 January, 1824
County Seat Mendenhall
Address Simpson County Courthouse]
109 W Pine Ave; PO Box 367
Mendenhall, MS 39114
Phone: 601.847.2626
Simpson County Courthouse

County Information

Simpson County, Mississippi Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Simpson County, Mississippi Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



County Courthouse

Simpson County Courthouse

Simpson County Courthouse
109 W Pine Ave; PO Box 367
Mendenhall, MS 39114
Phone: 601.847.2626

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage and court records. Clerk Chancery Court has divorce records 1880, some probate and land records. [1]


Parent County

1824--Simpson County was created 23 January 1824 from the Choctaw Cession.
County seat: Mendenhall [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1840, 1872-- Records were lost.


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
MSGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information.


For tips on accessing Simpson County, Mississippi Genealogy census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

The original land grants can be found at Bureau of Land Records website at

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Simpson County, Mississippi Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.



Civil War

  • Men from Simpson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Simpson County. 
- 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry [aka 45th Missisippi Infantry/ Hardcastle's/Williams']
Company A - Duncan Riflemen
- 6th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company H - Simpson Fencibles



Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Simpson County, Mississippi Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Records


Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Simpson County Historical and Genealogical Society
PO Box 75
D’Lo Mississippi 39062

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Simpson County, Mississippi page 382, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at