Simon Weir, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Simon Weir, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Simon Weir, Lincolnshire|
|Poor Law Union||Boston|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
An extra-parochial place with Parts of Holland. It became a civil parish in 1858 until it was abolished in 1906 and became part of the Kirton in Holland Ancient Parish.
Simon Weir, par., Lincolnshire, in Boston district. The location is half way along Simon Weir Lane, as shown on a modern street map, and approximately corresponds with the location shown for the parish on the 1888 Sanitary Districts Diagram for Lincolnshire. The lane folows the feature called "Five Towns Drain" on the OS 1st Series map.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Simon Weir parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Simon Weir Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
See Kirton in Holland, Lincolnshire for nearest ecclesiastical parish records
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Simon Weir
Census records[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Youngs, Frederic A., Guide to the Local Administrative Units of England, Vol. 2; Northern England. Offices of Royal Historical Society, London: 1991.
- John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 September 2013.