Silver Bow County, Montana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Montana
Silver Bow County

Guide to Silver Bow County, Montana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Butte
Organized: February 16, 1881
Parent County(s): Deer Lodge[1]
Neighboring Counties
Beaverhead  • Deer Lodge  • Jefferson  • Madison
See County Maps
Courthouse
MontanaSilverBowCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Montana highlighting Silver Bow County.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

Silver Bow County was founded 1881. The County Seat is Butte.[2] Silver Bow County is located in the southwestern area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Silver Bow County Courthouse
155 W Granite Street
Butte, MT 59701
Phone: 406.723.8262
Silver Bow County Website

County Clerk and recorder have birth and death records from 1890, land records from 1881 and military discharge records from 1932;
Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records[4]

Silver Bow County, Montana Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1890 1881 1890 1881 1881 1881 1860
*State birth and death records began in 1907.
Compliance for recording births was 1922 and 1915 for deaths.[6]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes


Populated Places

The following are locations in the county.[8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Silver Bow County, Montana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Montana Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 23,744
1900 47,635 100.6%
1910 56,848 19.3%
1920 60,313 6.1%
1930 56,969 −5.5%
1940 53,209 −6.6%
1950 48,422 −9.0%
1960 46,454 −4.1%
1970 41,981 −9.6%
1980 38,092 −9.3%
1990 33,941 −10.9%
2000 34,606 2.0%
2010 34,200 −1.2%
Source: [1]

Before Montana was a state in 1889, the western portion of Montana was included in the 1860 Washington Territory and the eastern was in the unorganized parts of 1860 Nebraska Territory. The 1870 and 1880 Federal Censuses included Montana Territory. No state censuses have been taken.[9] See links listed below.

Territory and State Censuses

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Montana starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal Census indexes, see Montana Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

Online Church Records
Lutheran Church

Other Church Records
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Ward and Branch Records

  • Butte Dist

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Silver Bow County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Deer Lodge CountyPowell CountyJefferson CountyMadison CountyBeaverhead CountyMT SILVER BOW.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Montana. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Montana Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

'World War II

For further information see Montana Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Records

Newspapers

For more information, see Montana Newspapers.


Montana Newspapers Online

Montana Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper.


Obituaries

See also United States Obituaries for more about finding United States obituaries.

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Silver Bow - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Butte Historical Society,
PO Box 3913,
Butte MT 59701

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/mon/silverbow/index.html accessed 11/22/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silver_Bow_County,_Montana accessed 11/22/2016
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 418.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Silver Bow County, Montana. Page 418. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 407.
  6. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 439.
  7. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Silver Bow County, Montana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silver_Bow_County%2C_Montana#Communities, accessed 2 Dec 2016.
  9. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 409. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.