Siljan Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy

Norway

Telemark County

Siljan

Guide to Siljan, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Siljan (Slemdal) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/ Diocese	add here
Prosti	add here
Len 1599-1660	Bratsberg
Amt 1689-1919	1660-1919: Bratsberg
Fylke 1919-Present	Telemark
Region	add here
Prestegjeld	Eidanger
Kommune	add here
Skifteretten	add here
Tinglag	Eidanger
Fogderi	Bamle
Sorenskriveri	Bamle
Skipreide	add here

Church Records

• Siljan clerical district contains parish registers from Siljan (Slemdal) parish. Was separated from Eidanger clerical district and annexed to Gjerpen clerical district from 1847 to 1856. See Eidanger clerical district for earlier records.
  
  

• The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1831-1927.
  
  

• Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

Census Records

• 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It covers Siljan clerical district. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. Eidanger clerical district included Brevik, and Siljan (Slemdal) parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• 1801: The 1801 census for Eidanger clerical district includes Siljan parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1801 Norway Census, 1801 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)

• 1865: The 1865 census for Siljan clerical district is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
    
    

• 1875: The 1875 census for Siljan clerical district is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  
  • 1875 Norway Census, 1875 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)

• 1891: The 1891 census for Siljan clerical district is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  
  • 1891 Norway Census, 1891 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)

• 1900: The 1900 census for Siljan clerical district is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• 1910: The 1910 census for Siljan clerical district is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  
  

• The census of 1865, 1875, 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center.

Farm Names

5 Aarum 1 Afsøla 29 Austad

11 Brattaas

31 Daapan

32 Eidet 21 Engelstad

29 Finsrød

26 Gonsholt nordre 5 Grorød 23 Gurholt

18 Hagen 16 Holte 15 Høgset 8 Høgstad nedre

4 Island

2 Kaasene 31 Killemyr 30 Kiste nordre 13 Klauverød 33 Kvisla

4 Lysekjønn 32 Løkken

32 Moholt

32 Naphogg 34 Neset

14 Præstegaarden 28 Præstejordet

4 Romsdalen 1 Rød 27 Rød

9 Sagen 17 Sagen og Bakkene 19 Sandbrekken 22 Serkland 31 Sikrydningen 12 Skjelbrei 1 Slettekollen 3 Solverød 10 Sundtvet 24 Surtedalen 4 Sæteret med Sporenes 1 Søland 18 Sørbø

4 Toa 2 Tormodsrød 17 Torsholt 20 Tudal 9 Tveitan

6 Vannebusæter 25 Viken 32 Vrangehul

19 Øverbø

Bakken, Asbjørn: Siljan:   Moholt (nordre og søndre), Løkka, Moene, Naphaug, Naphaugrønningen, Skautvedt, Kvisla (Innstua, Veststua, Oppstua), Kvisladalen, Kvislarønningene, Eidet, Streket, Strekrønningen, Nygård, Neset, Vindheim (Vranghull), Dåpan (nedre og øvre), KISTE SØNDRE, Teie, Putlandsrike, Killemyr, Sikane, Holtsrønningen, Holtsdalen, KISTE NORDRE, Modalen, Gorningsøya, Børja, SORTEDAL, Gjeitøya,  AUSTAD, Opstua, Vestlund, Nordstua, Nistua, Framstua, Bortstua, Finsrud, Riset, Viken, Tangen, GONSHOLT, Skobba, Nistua, Vierød, Prestjordet, Tufte, Solstad, Nordre Gonsholt, Bjerke, Vestgård, RØD (Nistua og Oppstua), Rødsrønningen, GURHOLT, Nistua, Framstua, Veststua, Kjølnes (nordre of søndre), Ødegården, Haugen, Hagen, Tveiten, Elverhøy, Solbakken, Svingen, Norheim, SERKLAND, Nordstua, Søstua, Hagen, Engrønningen, Voldbrekke, Nystad, Serklandstua, ENGELSTAD, Søstua, Nordstua, Plassen, TUDAL, SANNE, Sponsletta

Probate Records

Bamble judicial district
*1665-1869 Family History Library
*1665-1852 Digitalarkivet

Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Bakken, Asbjørn: Siljan Gårdene, Slektene, Trekk fra Bygdelivet. Del I. Utgitt av Siljan kommune, Larvik 1969

Bakken, Asbjørn: Siljan Gårdene, Slektene, Trekk fra Bygdelivet. Del 2. Utgitt av Siljan kommune, Larvik 1970

Bakken, Asbjørn: Siljan Gårdene, Slektene, Trekk fra Bygdelivet. Del 3. Utgitt av Siljan kommune, Larvik 1970

Bakken, Asbjørn: Siljan Gårdene, Slektene, Trekk fra Bygdelivet. Del 4. Utgitt av Siljan kommune, Larvik 1971

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.