To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sikeston Missouri Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


Sikeston Missouri Family History Center

The Sikeston Family History Center is dedicated to providing education and support for the family history community in the Sikeston area. The Family History Center is open to the public, who are invited to use the resources free of charge. Trained volunteers are available during Center hours and by appointment to assist patrons.


Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]

Location Map: Location Map

Address: 827 Euclid Dr, Sikeston, MO 63801-4602

  • Language: English

Phone: 573-471-0519

E-mail: calberthome@gmail.com

Open Hours:

  • Wednesday: 6:00pm-9:00pm
  • By appoinment also

Holiday Schedule:

Closed all major holidays.

Closed 1st weekend in Apr/Oct for General Conference. Closed Christmas and New Years Day weeks.

Calendar and Events[edit | edit source]

Upcoming Events[edit | edit source]

Class Schedule[edit | edit source]

Staff Training Meetings[edit | edit source]

Family Tree[edit | edit source]

Family Tree Training[edit | edit source]

Introduction to FamilySearch Tree:[edit | edit source]

FREE Online Genealogy Forms and Training[edit | edit source]

Online Forms[edit | edit source]

Online Training Courses[edit | edit source]

Online Research Training Videos[edit | edit source]

The following list is just a sampling of many of the ResearchTraining Videos that are available from the above link at the Learning Center Home page.

Online Training Videos[edit | edit source]

Center Resources[edit | edit source]

Provide 1-on-1 family history training, assistance and support

Offer Family History classes

Provide other family history resources and materials

Collections[edit | edit source]

Databases and Software[edit | edit source]

  • FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. (Note to FHC: Not all FHCs have access to this portal. If you do not, you will want to remove this entire bullet. If you do have access to it, just remove this text in italics.)

Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]

  • computers, microfilm readers, printer

Center Services[edit | edit source]

Staff Research Specialties[edit | edit source]

(Include sections for any other services your center provides. Add additional sections for those services. See the Bountiful and Chattanooga FHC pages for examples.)

Resources in the Local Area[edit | edit source]

(This section is to highlight other resources in your area that will be helpful for individuals doing research there in your location, if there are any, such as government offices, historical societies, etc.)

Links[edit | edit source]

National Links:

Other Family History and Library Centers and Resources[edit | edit source]


Volunteer at the Center[edit | edit source]

Would you like to learn more about Family History? Those who serve always learn the most!

Family Search Blog[edit | edit source]

A terrific resource to keep up on what is going on and available in Family Search FamilySearch Blog

Let’s Get Acquainted with the Family Search Wiki (WIK-ee)[edit | edit source]

Family Search users don’t always think to look at this valuable tool because they aren’t sure what it is and how valuable it can be to our research efforts. So, in Family Search’s words: “The FamilySearch Wiki is not about finding the names of your ancestors. It is not, in fact, about finding people at all.

  • The Wiki is about finding records that may have been generated about your ancestors and the places in which the records might be found.
    *It is a vast record depository of the paper trail that people leave behind long after they are gone.
    *The Wiki has records from the United States as well as from 244 countries.
    *Here you will be able to find documents such as census records, marriage records, birth records and death records and much more.
    *Probate documents are often very informative and may help you in your search. There is an extensive list of United States military records on the Wiki .”

Recently a friend in Illinois went into the FamilySearch Wiki and found phone numbers for the Surrogate Court in New York that held wills. She found six missing wills!

Take time to explore the opening page of this site there are tutuorials and examples and lots of help in learning the Wiki. Got stuck in your research? Look to the Wiki for help. How do I find the FamilySearch Wiki?

  • Familysearch.org Search (drop down menu) Wiki
    *(open FamilySearch.org and go to Search at top of page which will give you a dropdown menu and then click on Wiki)
    *How to Use the Wiki -- Wiki_Help
    *About the Wiki -- Find an ancestor using the wiki

Family Search Apps for Smart Phones and Tablets[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Apps

Family Search Hacks to Help Find Temple Names Faster[edit | edit source]

5 FamilySearch Hacks

Unreserved Reservations after Two Years[edit | edit source]

Unreserving Reservations After Two Years