Siddington, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Siddington, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Macclesfield|
|Parish registers: 1560; Separate registers exist for Woodford beginning 1842|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1586; Separate records exist for Woodford beginning 1842|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SIDDINGTON, a township-chapelry in Prestbury parish, Cheshire; 3½ miles SE of Chelford railway station, and 5 SW of Macclesfield. It has a post-office under Congleton. The church was restored in 1850.
Siddington All Saints is the parish church for Capesthorne with Siddington and is a former township of Prestbury Ancient parish.
It is believed that the church was founded in the 14th century but the first documentary evidence dates from 1474, when the church was mentioned in the will of Robert Sydington as a chapel of ease for Prestbury. The church is near Thorneycroft Hall and in 1722. In 1550, it was recorded that the vicar of Prestbury let his corn tithes in Siddington to Edward Fitton.
There are records of a chapel at Siddington in 1337 and in 1474 which was consecrated for preaching in 1521.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Siddington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Siddington Online Parish Records|
|FMP Diocese PRs||1538-1911||1538-1910||1538-1911|
|FMP Diocese BTs||1576-1906||1576-1906||1576-1906|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Siddington, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1865.
Records are at Chester Record Office call number EMS 290 Collection Siddington Chapel 1865-1979
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Macclesfield (1837–1998)
- Cheshire East (1998+)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Siddington on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 7 April 2013