Sibford, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sibford, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Oxfordshire
Oxfordshire Parishes
Sibford


Guide to Sibford, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Sibford, Oxfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bloxham
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Banbury
Registration District Banbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840; Separate registers exist for Epwell beginning 1577
Bishop's Transcripts: 1840; Separate records exist for Epwell beginning 1722
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Deddington
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Sibford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

SIBFORD-FERRIS, a hamlet, in the parish of Swalcliffe, union of Banbury, hundred of Bloxham,county of Oxford, 7¼ miles (W. S. W.) from the tow of Banbury.

SIBFORD-GOWER, a hamlet, in the parish of Swalcliffe, union of Banbury, hundred of Bloxham, county of Oxford, 7¾ miles (W. by S.) from Banbury. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sibford, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Sibford, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1840-1973
1841-1976
1840-1918


Census records

 

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-107. Date accessed: 25 September 2012.
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.