Shuff Fen, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Shuff Fen, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Shuff Fen

Guide to Shuff Fen, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shuff Fen, Lincolnshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Skirbeck
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Boston
Registration District Boston
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

Shuff Fen, uninhabited parish, Lincolnshire, in Boston district.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Shuff Fen is an extra parochial place

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Shuff Fen



Census records

. See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Boston Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 September 2013.