To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Shropshire, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Shropshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Shropshire Wiki Topics
Flag of Shropshire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Shropshire Background
Local Research Resources
Shropshire England


Guide to Shropshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Information[edit | edit source]

Shropshire, or Salop, is an inland county of England along its border with Wales. Traditionally the county was bounded by the English counties of Cheshire; Staffordshire; Worcestershire and Herefordshire; and the historic Welsh counties of Denbighshire; Flintshire; Montgomeryshire and Radnorshire.

Shropshire is one of England's most rural and sparsely populated counties, although it also played an important role in the Industrial Revolution. The county town is the history town of Shrewsbury, although the new town of Telford, built around the towns of Wellington, Dawley and Madeley, is the largest town in the county. Much of Shropshire was previously within Wales, and formed the eastern part of the ancient Kingdom of Powys. It was annexed to Saxon Mercia by King Offa in the eighth century.

Parishes[edit | edit source]

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Shropshire parishes:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Shropshire.

Civil Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

List of Shropshire Civil Registration Districts

  Websites[edit | edit source]