Shotwick Park, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Shotwick Park, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Shotwick Park, Cheshire|
Shotwick Park Cheshire
|Type||Extra-parochial area (England)|
|County||Cheshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Great Boughton|
|Registration District||Great Boughton|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SHOTWICK-PARK, is an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Great Boughton, in the Higher division of the hundred of Wirral, and the Southern division of the county of Chester, it is 4¼ miles NW from Chester.
Shotwick Park was an extra-parochial place in Wirral Hundred (Grid reference SJ 3571), which became a civil parish in 1858.
Shotwick Park, being part of the estates of the earl of Chester, passed to the crown with the earldom in 1237, and in 1312 Edward II created his son, later to become Edward III, Earl of Chester. We find the Black Prince, son of Edward III, writing to the Chamberlain of Cheshire on June 26th, 1353, “Make clean and prepare my houses of Shotwick where I intend to stay and have sport in the park”. Shotwick Park passed out of royal hands when Sir Thomas Wilbraham bought it from Charles II in 1677.
It is necessary to search the ecclesiastical parish records for adjacent parish of Shotwick for persons in the Shotwick Park extra parochial place.
Shotwick Park is a civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. Located near the village of Shotwick, it is four miles north west of Chester and close to the Welsh border.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Shotwick Park extra-parochial no records.
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Shotwick Park Extra-Parochial No Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
|FS BT'S|| NONE
Since this is an extra parochial place the nearby parish records of Shotwick, Cheshire Genealogy invariably contain events for the estate.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Great Boughton (1837-69)
- Chester (1870-1937)
- West Cheshire (1937-74)
- Chester & Ellesmere Port (1974-98)
- Cheshire West (1998-2007)
- Cheshire (2007-09)
- Cheshire West & Chester (2009+)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- Tarvin (previously Great Boughton) Poor Law Union, Cheshire Genealogy
- Hawarden Poor Law Union
- Chester Poor Law Union, Cheshire Genealogy from 1871-1930
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Shotwick Park on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 7 April 2013