Shotwick, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Shotwick, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Michael's Church, Shotwick Cheshire
|Poor Law Union||Great Boughton|
|Registration District||Great Boughton|
|Parish registers: 1681|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1591|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SHOTWICK, a township and a parish in Great Boughton district, Cheshire. The township lies 2¾ miles WSW of Ledsham railway station, and 5½ miles NW of Chester. The parish contains also the townships of Capenhurst, Woodbank, Little Saughall, and Great Saughall; the last of which has a post-office under Chester. There are three dissenting chapels.
St Michael's Church, Shotwick is in the village of Shotwick, Cheshire, England. The church is in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Chester and the deanery of Wirral South. Its benefice is combined with that of St Nicholas, Burton. The village, including part of the hamlet of Two Mills was within the Wirral Hundred.
St. Michael’s is a medieval double aisled church with largely eighteenth century furniture including box pews and a three decker pulpit. What is certain is that when the Domesday Book was compiled, a church existed at “Soto-wiche”, belonging to the secular canons of St. Werburgh. This church had probably been established about 100 years before. The Norman Church, which supplanted the Saxon one about the beginning of the 12th Century.
Shotwick is a village and civil parish on the Wirral Peninsula in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. The village is situated close to the border with Wales.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Shotwick parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Shotwick Online Parish Records|
|FMP Diocese PRs||1538-1911||1538-1910||1538-1911|
|FMP Diocese BTs||1576-1906||1576-1906||1576-1906|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Great Boughton (1837-1869)
- Cheshire (1870-1937)
- West Cheshire (1937-1974)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Chester Poor Law Union from 1871-1930
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Shotwick on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 7 April 2013