Shoshone County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Shoshone County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Location in the state of Idaho
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Founded||February 4, 1864|
|Address||Shoshone County Courthouse|
700 Bank Street
Wallace, ID 83873
Phone: (208) 752-1264 or 3331
Fax: (208) 753-2711
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Clerk
- 3 Quick Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Cemeteries
- 7 Census
- 8 Church
- 9 County Commissioners' Records
- 10 Court Records
- 11 Directories
- 12 History
- 13 Land and Property
- 14 Maps
- 15 Military
- 16 Miscellaneous Series
- 17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 18 Newspapers
- 19 Obituaries
- 20 Probate
- 21 Taxation
- 22 Vital Records
- 23 Societies and Libraries
- 24 Websites
- 25 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Native American Shoshone Tribe. The County has Wallace as its seat and the County was created February 4, 1864. The County is located in the north area of the state.
Shoshone County, Idaho Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Clerk[edit | edit source]
Shoshone County Clerk
700 Bank Street
Wallace, ID 83873
Phone: (208) 752-1264 or 3331
Fax: (208) 752-1896
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1907-1911, marriage records from 1875, divorce records from 1887, probate records from 1885, court records from 1884, and land records records from 1871.
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1864--Shoshone County was created 4 February 1864 as an original county. County seat: Wallace 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Home Town Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
The above list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have websites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Resources[edit | edit source]
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Shoshone County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Shoshone County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Shoshone County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Wallace.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|IDGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See Idaho Cemeteries for more information.|
There are many cemeteries in Shoshone County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Shoshone County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census[edit | edit source]
The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Historical Society Public Archives and Research Library is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census.
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
Church[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]
In 1930, Shoshone County was part of Northwestern States Mission. There were no stake organized in the area at the time.
- The following are local congregations (wards) which existed in Shoshone County, Idaho prior to 1950.
- 1864--Shoshone County was created 4 February 1864 as an original county.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
County Commissioners' Records[edit | edit source]
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Some of the early court records of Shoshone County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Shoshone County courthouse in Wallace, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Shoshone County that have been microfilmed include:
- Court journal, 1868-1934 Idaho. District Court (Shoshone County)
- Power of attorney, 1884-1929 Idaho. County Court (Shoshone County)
- Judgments, 1866-1931 Idaho. District Court (Shoshone County)
- Judgments, 1893-1927 Idaho. Circuit Court (Shoshone County)
Directories[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives has in its collections copies of many city, county, state and regional directories.
History[edit | edit source]
The digitized book An illustrated history of north Idaho : embracing Nez Perces, Idaho, Latah, Kootenai and Shoshone counties, state of Idaho is available online at archive.org.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Shoshone County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Wallace, Idaho.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many county records of Shoshone County and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has also microfilmed some of the Shoshone County land and property records, and the following can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers:
- Deeds, 1871-1904; indexes, 1871-1900
- Land patent records, 1896-1908
- Tax deeds, 1888-1896; index 1896-1905
Maps[edit | edit source]
- An 1895 map of Shoshone and surrounding counties is available online.
- A digital Shoshone County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Shoshone County, Idaho is available online.
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Shoshone County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm numbers 1452221 and 1452222) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Idaho, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Series[edit | edit source]
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Shoshone County. The originals are held in the Shoshone County courthouse in Wallace, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Current[edit | edit source]
Shoshone News - Press
401 Main Street
Kellogg, ID 83837
email - firstname.lastname@example.org
Historical[edit | edit source]
Copies of many Idaho Newspapers are in the collections of the Idaho State Archives.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
Some early probate records of Shoshone County have been microfilmed by the Idaho State Archives, and are available for viewed at their facility in Boise.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has also microfilmed Shoshone County probate records which can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of their Family History Centers. These records are:
For any existing or later probate records, these should be found at the Shoshone County courthouse in Wallace.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed the following tax records of Shoshone County which are available for viewing at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers:
Any other later or existing tax assessment rolls for Shoshone County should be in the courthouse in Wallace and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1911 - Idaho, Birth Index, 1861-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
The birth registers for Shoshone County, 1907-1911 have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Shoshone County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
There are 711 Shoshone County births and christenings in the online Idaho Births and Christenings.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1987 - Idaho, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1864-1976 - Idaho Church Marriages, 1864-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1864-1950 - Idaho County Marriages, 1864-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1878-1898; 1903-1942 - Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1947-1963 - Idaho Marriage Index, 1947-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Over 5300 marriages, 1868-1934, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
There are 4470 Shoshone County marriages listed online at Idaho Marriages.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- 1883-1929 - Idaho, County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1938-1961 - Idaho Death Certificates, 1938-1961 at FamilySearch — index
The Death Registers for Shoshone County, 1907-1911, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. After 1911, deaths occurring in Shoshone County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as mandated by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records topic under Idaho for details.
Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.
A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is Idaho Death Index 1911-1956.
There are also 1493 Shoshone County deaths recorded on the online Idaho Deaths and Burials.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- Clarkia District Library
377 Poplar St
Clarkia, ID 83812
Phone: (208) 245-2908
- Mullan Public Library
117 Hunter Ave
Mullan, ID 83846
Phone: (208) 744-1220
- Osburn Public Library
921 Mullan Ave
Osburn, ID 83849
Phone: (208) 752-9711
- Wallace Public Library
415 River St
Wallace, ID 83873
Phone: (208) 752-4571
- Kellogg Public Library
16 W Market Ave
Kellogg, ID 83837
Phone: (208) 786-7231
- Hughes House Historical Society
538 Main Avenue
Saint Maries, ID 83861-2061
- State Historical Society
2205 Old Penitentiary Rd
- Idaho Historical Society Facebook Page
- Idaho State Archives Digital Collections - Enter County in Search Bar
- The Idaho Welsh Society -- excellent cultural and historical site
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Shoshone County ID GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Shoshone County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Shoshone, Idaho Genealogy and History”, "http://genealogytrails.com/ida/shoshone/."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Shoshone County, Idaho. Page 177-180 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 180-181.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Shoshone, Idaho page 179, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Shoshone County,Idaho," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shoshone_County,_Idaho#Communities, accessed 15 June 2019.
- Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03