To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Shoreditch St Leonard, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Shoreditch St Leonard

Guide to Shoreditch St Leonard, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Here's a List of District Churches and Chapels Within St Leonard's Shoreditch Parish.

Shoreditch St Leonard, Middlesex
Londonstleonardshoreditch.jpg
London St Leonard Shoreditch
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Tower Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Shoreditch
Registration District Shoreditch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1807
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SHOREDITCH (St. Leonard), a parish, in the Tower division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex; forming a north-eastern portion of the metropolis, and, with Haggerston and Hoxton There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyan and other Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

This parish was subdivided into numerous chapelries and district churches by 1900. Be sure to see the above link to a "List of District Churches and Chapels Within St Leonard's Shoreditch Parish" for a more complete picture as to Shoreditch's ecclesiastical makeup.

Sir Henry Ellis's 1798 history of Shoreditch Parish has been digitized.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Shoreditch St Leonard parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Shoreditch St Leonard Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census and Inhabitants Lists[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1600 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

A 1922 survey of monuments within the church and in the churchyard is available online.[4]

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Baptisms of St Leonard Workhouse from 1835 to 1861 are indexed at FamilySearch in Batch P021491[5]

Baptisms of Shoreditch Workhouse from 1836 to 1873 are indexed at FamilySearch in Batch P015591[5]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Shoreditch on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 04 February 2014.
  2. Ellis, Henry. The History and Antiquities of the Parish of St. Leonard Shoreditch, and Liberty of Norton Folgate, in the Suburbs of London, 1798. Adapted. Date accessed: 04 February 2014.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  4. 'The Church of St. Leonard, Shoreditch', Survey of London: volume 8: Shoreditch (1922), pp. 91-125. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=98229 Date accessed: 15 March 2012.
  5. 5.0 5.1 Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.