To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Shocklach, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Shocklach, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shocklach, Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxton
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wrexham
Registration District Great Boughton; Wrexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1585
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malpas
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SHOCKLACH (St. Edith), is a parish, in the union of Wrexham, the Higher division of the hundred of Broxton, and the Southern division of the county of Chester; it is 4½ miles (N. W. by W.), 3½ (W. N. W.), from Malpas, and 7½ E of Wrexham railway station.The parish contains also the township of Caldecott. There is a New Connexion Methodist chapel.[1]  [2]

In the 1800s - Shocklach St Edith is an Ancient Parish and includes: Caldecott, Shocklach Oviatt, and Church Shocklach. Other dwellings and places within the parish include Castletown (part), Green Croft, Lane End (part), Lordsfields, Port Green, The Saughans. St Edith's is a small Norman church, one of the oldest ecclesiastical buildings in Cheshire. The church was built about 1150 by Thomas de Shocklach. The chancel was added in the 14th or the 15th century. In the 17th century the west wall of the nave was restored and altered to provide a small baptistry between two buttresses.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

The 1841 Census returns for Shocklach are missing.

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Church records Shocklach St Edith parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups: 

In the 1800s - Shocklach St Edith is an Ancient Parish and includes: Caldecott, Shocklach Oviatt, and Church Shocklach. Other dwellings and places within the parish include Castletown (part), Green Croft, Lane End (part), Lordsfields, Port Green, The Saughans. St Edith's is a small Norman church, one of the oldest ecclesiastical buildings in Cheshire. The church was built about 1150 by Thomas de Shocklach. The chancel was added in the 14th or the 15th century. In the 17th century the west wall of the nave was restored and altered to provide a small baptistry between two buttresses.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Shocklach parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Shocklach Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available: *FreeBMD *Cheshire BMD

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Wrexham (1837–96) *Chester (1897–1937) *West Cheshire (1937–74) *Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98) *Cheshire West (post1998)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Wrexham (1837–96)
  • Tarvin (1897–1930)

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

The Ancient Parishes of Malpas, Tilston and Shocklach]see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Church Shocklach on GENUKI

Schoklach Oviatt on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 7 April 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Date Accessed: 18 Nov 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

Bibliography[edit | edit source]