Shirland, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Shirland, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shirland, Derbyshire
Shirland St Leonard Derbyshire.jpg
Shirland St Leonard Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield
Registration District Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alfreton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SHIRLAND (St. Leonard), an ancient parish, in the union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 2 miles (N. by W.) from Alfreton. Other places in the parish include: Hallfield and Higham. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Shirland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Shirland St Leonard (1695) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1661-1868 Mar 1661-1844 Burials 1661-1868 Missing Bap/Bur 1853-1855, 1858-1864

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Shirland on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 85-87. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.