Shirebrook, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Shirebrook, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Mansfield|
|Parish registers: 1844|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1856|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
SHIREBROOK, was a chapelry, in the parish of Pleasley, union of Mansfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 5½ miles (N. by W.) from the town of Mansfield. It became an Ecclesiastical Parish in1849, 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837; for registration district history Mansfield registration district
Shirebrook parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Shirebrook Holy Trinity (1844) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1897-1904
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1856 Mar none Burials 1856
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 85-87. Date accessed: 27 May 2013.