Shiawassee County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Shiawassee County, Michigan ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Corunna
Organized: March 18, 1837
Parent County(s): Oakland, St. Clair[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clinton  • Genesee  • Gratiot  • Ingham  • Livingston  • Saginaw
See County Maps
Courthouse
Michigan, Shiawassee County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Michigan, Shiawassee County Locator Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Shiawassee River. The County is located in the center area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Shiawassee County Courthouse
208 N Shiawasee St.
Corunna, MI 48817
Phone: 517-743-2242
Shiawassee County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage, and death records from 1867, divorce and court records from 1848.
Probate Clerk has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [3]

Shiawassee County, Michigan Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1867 1867 1848 1836 1840 1820
Statewide registration started in 1867 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Shiawassee County, Michigan online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 2,103
1850 5,230 148.7%
1860 12,349 136.1%
1870 20,858 68.9%
1880 27,059 29.7%
1890 30,952 14.4%
1900 33,866 9.4%
1910 33,246 −1.8%
1920 35,924 8.1%
1930 39,517 10.0%
1940 41,207 4.3%
1950 45,967 11.6%
1960 53,446 16.3%
1970 63,075 18.0%
1980 71,140 12.8%
1990 69,770 −1.9%
2000 71,687 2.7%
2010 70,648 −1.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


Federal Census

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the Shiawassee County courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Shiawassee County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Gratiot CountySaginaw CountyGenesee CountyLivingston CountyIngham CountyClinton CountyMI SHIAWASSEE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Civil War service men from Shiawassee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Shiawassee County.

Online Indexes and Records

Spanish American War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • Argus-Press - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1911-2008

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Michigan tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the Wiki page, Michigan Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

  • Birth Records and Death Records from 1867 can be obtained from the Michigan Department of Community Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
  • Marriage Records from 1867 and Divorce Records from 1897 can be obtained from the County Clerk.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Owosso Michigan Family History Center
1588 N Hickory
Owosso, MI 48867
Phone: 989-723-8656
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Shiawassee District Library
502 West Main Street
Owosso, MI 48867
Phone: 989-725-5134
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Shiawassee County Historical Society
1997 North M-52 / PO Box 526
Owosso MI 48867
Website

Shiawassee County Genealogical Society
Website

Disbanded, but their records are available at The Shiawassee District Library and The Shiawassee County Historical Society

Websites[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Shiawassee County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Shiawassee County, Michigan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed 12 November 2019.