To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sherwood Villa, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Sherwood Villa

Guide to Sherwood Villa, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sherwood Villa, Devon
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wonford
County Devon
Poor Law Union Crediton
Registration District Crediton
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Sherwood Villa, parish, Devon, near Crediton.[1]

An additional reference for Sherwood Villa is found under Newton Syres:

NEWTON-ST. CYRES, a village and a parish in Crediton district, Devon. The village stands on the river Creedy, adjacent to the Exeter and North Devon railway, 4½ miles N W of Exeter; and has a station on the railway, a post-office under Exeter. Acres, with Sherwood-Villa.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887). Date accessed: 31 October 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date accessed: 31 October 2013.