Sherston Magna with Sherston Parva, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Wiltshire Parishes
Sherston Magna with Sherston Parva

Guide to Sherston Magna with Sherston Parva, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sherston Magna with Sherston Parva, Wiltshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chippenham
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Malmesbury
Registration District Malmesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malmesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

SHERSTON MAGNA (Holy Cross), a parish, in the union of Malmesbury, hundred of Chippenham,Malmesbury and Kingswood, and N. divisions of Wilts,5¾ miles (W. by S.) from Malmesbury.[1] [2]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sherston Magna parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1653-1912


IGI 1653-1886



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-80. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
  2. From: 'Shereford - Shifford', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-80. British HistoryDate accessed: 14 October 2013.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 14 January 2014.
  6. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  7. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.