Sherman County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Sherman County
 

Guide to Sherman County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Loup City
Organized: March 1, 1871
Parent County(s): Buffalo and unorganized territory[1]
Neighboring Counties
Buffalo  • Custer  • Greeley  • Howard  • Valley
See County Maps
Courthouse
NebraskaShermanCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Nebraska highlighting Sherman County svg.bmp
Adoption


County Information

Description

The County was named for William Tecumseh Sherman. The County has Loup City as its seat and the County was created 1873. The County is located in central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Sherman County Courthouse
630 O Street
P.O. Box 456
Loup City, NE 68853
Phone: 308.745.1513
Sherman County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1883, divorce and court records from 1882, land records from 1873 and naturalization records 1882-1920.
County Clerk Magistrate has probate records.[1]

Sherman County, Nebraska Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1904 1873 1904 1871 1873 1871 1854
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in late 1904. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Sherman County, Nebraska:[4]

  • Ashton
  • Hazard
  • Litchfield
  • Loup City
  • Rockville

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Sherman County, Nebraska online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 2,061
1890 6,399 210.5%
1900 6,550 2.4%
1910 8,278 26.4%
1920 8,877 7.2%
1930 9,122 2.8%
1940 7,764 −14.9%
1950 6,421 −17.3%
1960 5,382 −16.2%
1970 4,725 −12.2%
1980 4,226 −10.6%
1990 3,718 −12.0%
2000 3,318 −10.8%
2010 3,152 −5.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Sherman County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sherman County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Custer CountyValley CountyGreeley CountyHoward CountyBuffalo CountyHall CountyNE SHERMAN.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Sherman - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Loup City Public Library
    800 North 8th St
    Loup City, NE 68853-8020
    Phone: 308-745-1589
    Fax: 308-745-0130
    Email: oupcitylibrary@yahoo.com
    Director: Audrey Heil
  • Ravenna Public Library
    121 W. Seneca St
    Ravenna, NE 68869
    Phone: 308-452-4213
    Email: library@myravenna.com

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Sherman, Nebraska," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sherman_County,_Nebraska accessed 8/22/2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sherman County, Nebraska. Page 428-435 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 417-420.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Sherman County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sherman_County,_Nebraska, accessed 2 August 2016.