To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Sherburn in Elmet, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sherburn in Elmet, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sherburn in Elmet, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barkstone-Ash
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Great Preston Gilbert Union
Registration District Pontefract; Tadcaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1640; Separate registers exist for South Milford beginning 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Fenton
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Sherburn in Elmet is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.

Other places in the parish include: Barkston, South Milford, Huddleston, Huddleston and Lumby, Huddleston cum Lumby, Huddleston with Lumby, Lennerton, Linnerton, Lotherton cum Aberford, Lumby, Micklefield, Newthorpe, Rest Park, Sherburn with Lennerton, and Barkstone.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in Sherburn in Elmet include: Primitive Methodist, Roman Catholic, and Wesleyan Methodist.

SHERBURN (All Saints), a market-town and parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York; comprising the townships of Barkstone, Huddlestone with Lumby, Lotherton, South Milford, Newthorpe, and Sherburn, and the chapelry of Micklefield; and containing 3757 inhabitants, of whom 1328 are in the town, 15 miles (S. W. by S.) from York, and 184 (N. by W.) from London. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Sherburn in Elmet parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Sherburn in Elmet Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


ANC 1 1512-1812
1512-1812
1512-1812
ANC 2 1813-1910
1813-1935
1813-1985
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1541-1995
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 69-74. Date accessed: 17 October 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk