Shepperton, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Shepperton, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shepperton, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Spelthorne
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Staines
Registration District Staines
Records begin
Parish registers: 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1829
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SHEPPERTON St. Nicholas, a parish, in the union of Staines, hundred of Spelthorne, County of Middlesex, is 2¼ miles south and east of Chertsey Parish.[1]

Additional information:

The "Victoria County History" of Shepperton (1962) is available online. It includes a history of land ownership, manors, estates, mills, economic and social history, local government, church, nonconformity, schools, and charities.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Online Shepperton Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1574
1574
1574
Images
Indexes 1574-1876 findmypast[3] 1574-1837 findmypast[4]
1574-1837 findmypast[5]
1813-1837 findmypast[6]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records[edit | edit source]

Records survive for Shepperton Manor (1612-1903). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Shepperton on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848 Date accessed and adapted: 29 October 2013.
  2. Shepperton, Staines, Stanwell, Sunbury, Teddington, Heston and Isleworth, Twickenham, Cowley, Cranford, West Drayton, Greenford, Hanwell, Harefield and Harlington A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 3: , (1962). Adapted. Date accessed: 05 February 2014.
  3. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  4. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  5. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  6. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.