Shelton, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Shelton, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Stoke on Trent|
|Registration District||Stoke upon Trent|
|Parish registers: 1834|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1834|
|Rural Deanery||Stoke upon Trent|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Shelton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1843 from Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire Ancient Parish.
SHELTON, a district parish, in the parish, union, and newly-erected borough of Stoke-upon-Trent, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 2 miles ( E. N. E.) from Newcastle-underLyme. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans of the Old and New Connexion. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Shelton St Mark was formed from part of Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire St Peter EP
Shelton St Mark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free FREG - Search under Hanley|
|SHELTON ST MARK (1834) Online Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
- 1532/3 - A List of Families in Shelton, Staffordshire Genealogy 1532/3 FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Reference[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 66-69. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 31 May 2015.
- Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8