Sheepscar St Luke, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sheepscar St Luke)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sheepscar St Luke, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sheepscar St Luke, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leeds; Leeds Borough
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Leeds Guardians
Registration District Hunslet; Leeds
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: 1841
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SHEEPSCAR, a chapelry in Leeds borough, W. R. Yorkshire.  A temporary iron church was built in 1866; and a permanent stone one in 1867.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online data content from chapelry registers of Sheepscar exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SHEEPSCAR CHAPELRY (1***) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding SHEEPSCAR and comprising the whole ancient parish of LEEDS to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LEEDS parish page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 18 October 2013.