Sheboygan County, Wisconsin Genealogy
Guide to Sheboygan County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Sheboygan County, Wisconsin|
Location in the state of Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
|Founded||March 11, 1848|
|Address|| Sheboygan County Courthouse|
615 N 6th Street
Sheboygan, WI 53081
Sheboygan County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Bible Records
- 5.2 Biography
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church History and Records
- 5.6 Court Records
- 5.7 Crime and Criminals
- 5.8 Directories
- 5.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 5.10 Gazetteers
- 5.11 Genealogy
- 5.12 History
- 5.13 Land and Property
- 5.14 Maps
- 5.15 Migration
- 5.16 Military History and Records
- 5.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.18 Newspapers
- 5.19 Obituaries
- 5.20 Periodicals
- 5.21 Probate Records
- 5.22 Repositories
- 5.23 Societies
- 5.24 Taxation
- 5.25 Vital Records
- 5.26 Voting Registers
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Sheboygan County, Wisconsin Record Dates
Sheboygan County Courthouse
615 N 6th Street
Sheboygan, WI 53081
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1872;
Clerk of Circuit Courts has divorce, court and naturalization records form 1850;
Register in Probate has probate records records form 1850 
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|WIGenWeb Archives||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
- 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
- 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
- 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census. Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
- 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
- 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Church History and Records
Crime and Criminals
- Manitowoc City Directory - 1875 |
- Sheboygan City Directory - 1875 | 1884 | 1886 | 1887-8 | 1889-90 | 1891-92 | 1893-94 | 1895-6 | 1897-8
- The farm journal illustrated rural directory of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin (with a complete road map of the county) - 1918
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- The Center for Volga German Studies at Concordia University includes information on many colonies where the Volga German immigrants came from, as well as some surnames of immigrants who settled in and around Sheboygan.
- History of Sheboygan County (1898)
Portrait and biographical record of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the county, together with biographies and portraits of all the presidents of the United States and the governors of the state of Wisconsin (1894)
- History of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin, past and present (1921) - Volume 1 (Index) | Volume 2 (Index)
- Historic Sheboygan County (1975)
Land and Property
- An illustrated historical atlas of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin (1875)
- Illustrated historical atlas of Sheboygan County (1902)
- Atlas of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin (1916)
- Atlas of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin (1920)
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Wisconsin
- Family Maps of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Simple Map of Sheboygan County Townships
- Download PDF Map of Sheboygan County - Wisconsin DOT, shows roads and townships.
Military History and Records
Civil War service men from Sheboygan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Sheboygan County.
- - 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company A
- - 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies B and F
- - 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company A
- - 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company A
World War I
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Sheboygan Press -- $ ancestry.com requires subscription
- Various -- Sheboygan Press Telegram,The Sheboygan Daily Press. Daily Press (Sheboygan, Wisconsin) , The Sheboygan Mercury -- $ ancestry.com requires subscription
- 1800 – 1987 Wisconsin Wills and Probate Records 1800-1987 at Ancestry.com — images and index $
- 1848 – 1948 Wisconsin Probate Estate Files 1848-1948 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Sheboygan County Historical Society
Sheboygan County Genealogical Society
Sheboygan County Historical Research Center
Area Research Center - University of Wisconsin
Plymouth Genealogical Society
Plymouth Historical Society
Random Lake Area Historical Society
Kiel Area Historical Society
- Vital Records Indexes - Rootsweb Freepages
In the Wisconsin birth index Sheboygan County births are listed as St Croix.
- 1826 - 1926 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1826 - 1908 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings Index, 1826-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1836 - 1930 Wisconsin, Marriages, 1836-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin, Marriage Index, 1973-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1997 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1867 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Records, 1867-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1835 - 1968 Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1959 - 1997 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1959-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Sheboygan County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Wis Gen Web Sheboygan County
- Wis Gen Web Archives Sheboygan County
- Sheboygan County Historical Research Center
- Sheboygan County Page - rootsweb
- ancestry.com Sheboygan County Search -- $ requires subscription -- currently mostly newspapers
- Sheboygan County Links -- linkpendium
- Sheboygan County Links -- Cyndi's List -- Search for or scroll down to "Sheboygan"
- Sheboygan County Links -- Live Roots
- Sheboygan County Links -- Genealogy Trails
- Sheboygan County Links -- Histopolis -- Nice Cemetery Listing
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 759 St Croix Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).