Shawano County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Shawano County

Guide to Shawano County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Shawano County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of Wisconsin highlighting Shawano County
Location in the state of Wisconsin
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 11, 1848
County Seat Shawano
Courthouse
Address Shawano County Courthouse
311 N Main Street
Shawano, WI 54166
Phone: 715.526.9150
Shawano County Website


County Information

Shawano County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1854 1848 1860 1854 1861


County Courthouse

Shawano County Courthouse
311 N Main Street
Shawano, WI 54166
Phone: 715.526.9150

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records;
Register in Probate has probate records [1]


Historical Facts

Parent County

1853--Shawano County was created 16 February 1853 from Oconto, Waupaca and Winnebago Counties.
County seat: Shawano [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

WI SHAWANO.JPG

Populated Places

CITIES:

  1. Shawano (county seat)
  2. Marion (small portion, majority in Waupaca County)
  3. Pulaski (small portion, majority in Brown County)


VILLAGES:

Neighboring Counties

Brown  • Langlade  • Marathon  • Menominee  • Oconto  • Outagamie  • Portage  • Waupaca

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WIGenWeb Archives
Interment
EPodunk
WI Genealogical Society
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census
Federal Census

Church History and Records

Lutheran

First Lutheran Church, Wittenberg

  • Records of First Lutheran Church, Wittenberg, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Green Valley

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Green Valley, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records 

Circuit and County Court case files from 1861-1952 are available at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone:(920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook

Online index available: Collections
Circuit Court Search form available at: Requests

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship 

Declarations of Intention and Naturalization Records from 1858-1949 are available at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone:(920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook
Request form available at: Requests

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Wisconsin Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone:(920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook

County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Bonduel Community Archives
PO Box 205
108 South First Street
Bonduel, WI, 54107
Telephone: 715-758-2687
Website

Shawano County Historical Society
524 N. Franklin Street
Shawano, WI, 54166-0534
TElephone: 715-526- 3323
Website
Email: mailto:wint1@juno.com

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Telephone: 920-465-2539
E-mail:archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook
Website

Northern Wisconsin Genealogists
PO Box 321
Shawano, WI 54166

Shawano County Historical Society
414 W Third St
Shawano, WI 54166
Telephone: 715-526-9033

Tigerton Area Historical Society
PO Box 191
Tigerton, WI 54486
Telephone: 715-535-2140
Facebook

Wittenburg Area Historical Society
9141 Townline Rd
Eland, WI 54427
Telephone: 715-454-6535
E-mail:drboov@gmail.com
Facebook

Taxation

Vital Records

 Pre-1907 birth, marriage, and death registrations on microfilm are available at:

Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Facebook
Birth, Death, and Marriage Request Forms $

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records

1965 - 1984 Wisconsin, Divorce Index, 1965-1984 at FamilySearch.org — index

Death Records

Voting Registers

Websites

Wiki articles describing  online collections are found at:

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 759 Shawano Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).