Sharp County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Sharp County
 

Guide to Sharp County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Ash Flat
Organized: July 18, 1868
Parent County(s): Lawrence[1]
Neighboring Counties
Fulton  • Independence  • Izard  • Lawrence  • Oregon (MO)  • Randolph
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasSharpCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-sharp.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for Ephraim Sharp, a state legislator from the area. The County Seat is Ash Flat and was founded July 18, 1868. It is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Sharp County Courthouse
P.O. Box 307
Ash Flat, AR 72513
Phone: 870.994.7338
Sharp County Website

County Clerk has probate, divorce, court and land records from 1880[3]

Sharp County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1880 1914* 1880 1880 1880 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

1880 Fire on January 20, 1880 destroyed all the county records. Marriages dated prior to the fire may be found in the Sharp County Record newspaper.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1868--Sharp County was created 18 July 1868 from Lawrence County. 
  • County seat: Ash Flat[5]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Townships
  • Scott
  • South Big Rock
  • South Union
  • Strawberry
  • Upper North
  • Washington
  • West Sullivan (most of Sidney)


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Arkansas County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [7]

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Sharp, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 5,400
1880 9,047 67.5%
1890 10,418 15.2%
1900 12,199 17.1%
1910 11,688 −4.2%
1920 11,132 −4.8%
1930 10,715 −3.7%
1940 11,497 7.3%
1950 8,999 −21.7%
1960 6,319 −29.8%
1970 8,233 30.3%
1980 14,607 77.4%
1990 14,109 −3.4%
2000 17,119 21.3%
2010 17,264 0.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Howell CountyOregon CountyRipley CountyFulton CountyRandolph CountyIzard CountyIndependence CountyLawrence CountyAR SHARP.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sharp County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[8] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png
See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Sharp County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sharp_County,_Arkansas
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sharp County, Arkansas. Page 70 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 67.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Sharp County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sharp_County,_Arkansas, accessed 1 October 2018.
  7. Nancy Orr, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=809&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c: accessed January 15, 2016), “Sharp County.”
  8. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
  10. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.