Guide to Seychelles ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|Seychelles Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Seychelles is an island country in the Indian Ocean off the coast of Africa whose nearest neighbors are Réunion, Mauritius, Madagascar, Somalia, Kenya, Tanzania, and Mozambique. It was formerly ruled by Great Britain. The official languages are English, French, and Seychellois Creole.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Seychelles Research
Links to articles on getting started with Seychelles research.
Seychelles Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Seychelles research.
Seychelles Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Seychelles.
Districts[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Seychelles. Click on an administrative district below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.
Seychelles has 23 administrative districts.
- Anse aux Pins
- Anse Boileau
- Anse Etoile
- Au Cap
- Anse Royale
- Baie Lazare
- Baie Sainte Anne
- Beau Vallon
- Bel Air
- Bel Ombre
- Grand' Anse (on Mahe)
- Grand' Anse (on Praslin)
- La Digue and Inner Islands
- La Riviere Anglaise
- Mont Buxton
- Mont Fleuri
- Pointe La Rue
- Port Glaud
- Saint Louis
- Les Mamelles
- Roche Caïman
- Outer Islands
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
Other Resources[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributor, "Seychelles," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seychelles, accessed 22 April 2016.