Sequoyah County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sequoyah County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Sequoyah County

Guide to Sequoyah County, Oklahoma ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Sallisaw
Organized: July 16, 1907
Parent County(s): Cherokee I[1]
Neighboring Counties
Adair  • Cherokee  • Crawford (AR)  • Haskell  • LeFlore  • Muskogee  • Sebastian (AR)
See County Maps
Location Map

County Information


Sequoyah County is named for the Sequoyah District of the Cherokee Nation and for Sequoyah (George Guess), who invented a syllabary (alphabet) that brought literacy to the Cherokee in the early nineteenth century.[2] Sequoyah County was created in 1907. The county seat is Sallisaw. [3]

County Courthouse

Sequoyah County Courthouse
120 E. Chickasaw Ave., Box 8
Sallisaw, Oklahoma 74955
Phone: 918.775.4517
Sequoyah County Website

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1907[1]

Sequoyah County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1908 1907 1907 1907 1907

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Sequoyah County, Oklahoma:[4]


  • Sallisaw (county seat)


  • Gans
  • Gore
  • Marble City
  • Moffett
  • Muldrow
  • Paradise Hill
  • Roland
  • Vian

Unincorporated communities

  • Cottonwood
  • Redland

Census-designated places

  • Akins
  • Belfonte
  • Brent
  • Brushy
  • Carlisle
  • Dwight Mission
  • Evening Shade
  • Flute Springs
  • Long
  • Marble City Community
  • McKey
  • Notchietown
  • Pinhook Corners
  • Redbird Smith
  • Remy
  • Short
  • Stony Point
  • Sycamore

History Timeline


Bible Records


Business, Commerce, and Occupations


Cemeteries of Sequoyah County, Oklahoma online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information


Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 25,005
1920 26,786 7.1%
1930 19,505 −27.2%
1940 23,138 18.6%
1950 19,773 −14.5%
1960 18,001 −9.0%
1970 23,370 29.8%
1980 30,749 31.6%
1990 33,828 10.0%
2000 38,972 15.2%
2010 42,391 8.8%
Source: "".

For tips on accessing Sequoyah County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court Records


Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

American Indians


Land and Property

Funeral Homes



Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sequoyah County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Muskogee and Northeastern Oklahoma: including the counties of Muskogee, McIntosh, Wagoner, Cherokee, Sequoyah, Adair, Delaware, Mayes, Rogers, Washington, Nowata, Craig, and Ottawa. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Publishing Co., 1922

Maps and Gazetteers

Sequoyah County, OK


Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship


Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sequoyah County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Other Records


Probate Records

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Sequoyah - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.


Online Birth Records Indexes and Images


Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images


Online Death Records Indexes and Images


Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Research Facilities


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.


Stanley Tubbs Memorial Library, Sallisaw



Sequoyah Genealogical Society
101 East Cherokee
Sallisaw, OK 74955

Sequoyah County Historical Society
PO Box 305
Sallisaw, Ok 74955

Muldrow Genealogical Society
PO Box 1253
Muldrow, OK 74938


  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • Sequoyah County Genealogical Resources
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oklahoma. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. accessed 09/29/2016
  3.,_Oklahoma accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Sequoyah County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,,_Oklahoma, accessed 6 August 2016.