Senegal Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Senegal ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Senegal Wiki Topics
900px-Flag of Senegal.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Senegal Background
Local Research Resources

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Senegal is a country in Africa bordered by Mauritania, Mali, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, and The Gambia. Portions of the country were formerly governed by France. The official language is French.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Senegal Research

Links to articles on getting started with Senegal research.

Senegal Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Senegal research.

Ask the
Community

Senegal Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Senegal. Senegal, administrative divisions - en - monochrome.png

Regions[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Senegal. Senegal is divided into 11 regions:

  • Dakar
  • Diourbel
  • Fatick
  • Kaolack
  • Kolda
  • Louga
  • Matam
  • Saint-Louis
  • Tambacounda
  • Thies
  • Ziguinchor

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Senegal," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Senegal, accessed 22 April 2016.