Selzach parish, Solothurn, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Switzerland Wiki Topics
Switzerlandflag.gif
Beginning Research
Record Types
Switzerland Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to Selzach parish, Solothurn, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

A Catholic parish church was located in Selzach. The parish covers of over 7 square miles and had a total population of over 1000 people in 1850.

Place Names[edit | edit source]

Municipalities within Selzach[edit | edit source]

Gemeinden or Municipalities
Selzach

Surrounding Parishes[edit | edit source]

Selzach Gemeinde[edit | edit source]

It consists of over seven square mile and had a population of about 1000 in 1850.

Surnames[edit | edit source]

The community or gemeinde of Selzach was the heimat or ancestral home for over 30 surnames. The Register of Swiss Surnames provides the surnames associated with every gemeinde or community in Switzerland. The register provides correct spellings for surnames and place names.

Locations[edit | edit source]

A google map of Selzach shows it in relation to the surrounding area.

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

There are numerous compiled genealogies that have been created since 1900; however, they need to verified by researching the parish registers since it has been proven that a percentage of them are inaccurate.

The following genealogies have been researched for Selzach families:

Collections[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Guide to Selzach online Kirchenbuch

film item Time period Description Online Record
1608836 3 1598-1664 baptism, marriages, deaths here
1608836 4 1664-1800 baptisms here
1608836 5 1664-1842 marriage here
1608836 6 1664-1838 Deaths here
1608836 7 1800-1839 baptism here

Civil Registration

film item Time period Description Online Record
1691564 5 1836-1855 Births, marriages, deaths here
1691564 6 1856-1875 Births, marriages, deaths here
1691565 1 1856-1875 Births, marriages, deaths here

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Selzach is located in Lebern District. Probate records are on online from 1678 to 1850. There is a comprehensive index of the 26 microfilms in this collection that are now online. The index and records in this collection cover the west part of Lebern District. This includes the communites of - Grenchen, Bettlach, Selzach, and Lommiswil.

Miscellaneous[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland