To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Selby, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Selby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Selby, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barkstone-Ash
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Selby
Registration District Selby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1579
Bishop's Transcripts: 1746
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Selby
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

SELBY (St. Mary and St. German), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York, 14½ miles (S. by E.) from York, and 177 (N. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians; and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Selby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Selby Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


ANC 1 1512-1812
1512-1812
1512-1812
ANC 2 1813-1910
1813-1935
1813-1985
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1541-1995
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1579.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 44-48. Date accessed: 18 October 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

Bibiography[edit | edit source]

Genealogy and History Websites[edit | edit source]