Selby, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Selby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Selby|
|Parish registers: 1579|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1746|
|Rural Deanery||New Ainsty|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Selby|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SELBY (St. Mary and St. German), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York, 14½ miles (S. by E.) from York, and 177 (N. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians; and a Roman Catholic chapel.
Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Selby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Selby Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Parish Records[edit | edit source]
This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1579.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 44-48. Date accessed: 18 October 2013.