Sebastian County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sebastian County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Sebastian County
 

Guide to Sebastian County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Fort Smith
Organized: January 6, 1851
Parent County(s): Scott, Polk, Crawford, and Van Buren[1]
Neighboring Counties
Crawford  • Franklin  • LeFlore (OK)  • Logan  • Scott  • Sequoyah (OK)
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasSebastianFortSmithCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-sebastian.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Sebastian County Courthouse
35 S 6th;
Fort Smith, AR 72901
Phone: 501.782.5065
Sebastian County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1865 and probate records from 1866;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[2]

Sebastian County, Arkansas

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1865 1914* 1851 1861 1865
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

1881, 1882 A courthouse fire destroyed most records. Some have been reconstructed.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Sebastian County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Sebastian County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • Biographies from The History of Sebastian County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Sebastian County, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Church Records

Episcopal

St. John's Episcopal Church, Fort Smith

  • 1860-1886 - St. John's Episcopal Church, Fort Smith Baptism Index 1860-1886. Batch C586781 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1860-1895 - St. John's Episcopal Church, Fort Smith Marriage Index 1860-1895. Batch M586781 at FamilySearch - free.

Lutheran

First Lutheran Church, Fort Smith

  • 1868-1885 - First Lutheran Church, Fort Smith Baptism Index 1868-1885. Batch C586721 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1868-1895 - First Lutheran Church, Fort Smith Marriage Index 1868-1895. Batch M586721 at FamilySearch - free.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1851-1922 County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration accounts 1870-1892; Administration and guardian bonds 1891-1904; Administration and guardian dockets 1865-1885; Administration bonds 1861-1868; Bonds and letters 1872-1883; Dockets 1861-1864 and 1875-1886; Executors bonds and letters 1883-1910; Probate records 1851-1888; Wills 1902-1922.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Friends of the Fort Smith Public Library (Arkansas). The Goodspeed histories of Sebastian County, Arkansas. Columbia, Tennessee : Woodward & Stinson, 1977.
  • History of Benton, Washington, Carroll, Madison, Crawford, Franklin, and Sebastian Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Sebastian CountyCrawford CountyMadison CountyNewton CountyFranklin CountyLogan CountyScott CountyPolk CountyYell CountySaline CountyWahsington CountyJohnson CountyPope CountyMontgomery CountyGarland CountyPerry CountySequoyah CountyLe Flore CountyARSebastian.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Sebastian County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 11th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 17th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Griffith's) (Confederate), Companies A, B, C and F
- 19th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Dawson's) (Confederate)
- 34th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies D and G
- 35th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, B, C and D
- 51st Regiment, Arkansas Militia (Confederate)
- Witherspoon's Battalion, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate)
- 4th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Union)

Online Records

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Sebastian County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sebastian County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

  • 1877 - 1963 - Sebastian County Births and Deaths at FamilySearch. Index only (Free)
  • 1881 - 1919 - Sebastian County Death Index 1881-1919. Batch B750709 at FamilySearch - free.
  • 1919 - 1929 - Sebastian County Death Index 1919-1929. Batch B750794 at FamilySearch - free.

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb for Sebastian County]. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb - Sebastian Co, Arkansas. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Sebastian County Births and Deaths, 1877-1963. Free. Search indexed information; images are not available.
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Guy Lancaster, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=807&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “Sebastian County.”
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, CivilWar Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
  8. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.