Searcy County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Searcy County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Searcy County
 

Guide to Searcy County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Marshall
Organized: December 13, 1838
Parent County(s): Marion[1]
Neighboring Counties
Baxter  • Boone  • Marion  • Newton  • Pope  • Stone  • Van Buren
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasSearcyCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-searcy.png
Adoption
Richland Creek Wilderness Ben Hur, Searcy CO., Arkansas

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Searcy County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
P.O. Box 297
Marshall, AR 72650-0297
Phone: 870.448.3354
Searcy County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1881 and land records from 1866.[2]

Searcy County, Arkansas

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1881 1914* 1881 1866 1881
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

1864, 1877, 1885 Records destroyed in January 1864, partially destroyed in March 1877, and again in August 1885. All records prior to 1881 are missing except deed record A, one chancery court record, one probate court record, one circuit court record.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1838--Searcy County was created 13 December 1838 from Marion County.
  • County seat: Marshall[4]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Searcy County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Searcy County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Searcy County, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Clemons, Veda. Searcy County, Arkansas : a history of Searcy County, Arkansas, and its people. Marshall, Arkansas : Searcy County Retired Teachers Association, c1987.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Searcy CountyCarroll CountyFulton CountyStone CountyIzard CountyMarion CountyBoone CountyVan Buren CountyBaxter CountyConway CountyJohnson CountyPope CountyCleburne CountyNewton CountyMadison CountyARSearcy.JPG


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Searcy County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 14th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Powers') (Confederate)
- 16th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 27th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Union)[6]
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[7] Companies A, D, K, H, I, and M

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Searcy County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

  • 1919 - 1921 - Searcy County Death Index 1919-1921. Batch B749472 at FamilySearch - free.

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. James J. Johnston, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=806&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “Searcy County.”
  6. Arkansas, Adjutant General's Office, Report of the Adjutant General of Arkansas, for the period of the late rebellion, and to November 1, 1866, (Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, c1990) FHL Collection
  7. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
  9. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.