Search Church Records to Find Marriage Information in Wales Before 1837
Before using church records know:[edit | edit source]
- names for both the bride and groom (one may work if it is not something like Evan Evans)
- year of the marriage (it can be estimated based on the birth year of the first child)
Search a county marriage index[edit | edit source]
Next Steps[edit | edit source]
Check to see if the marriage was by Banns or License
Obtain the additional documents of marriage bond or marriage allegation for anyone married by license.
Obtain a copy of the marriage record[edit | edit source]
Once you know when and where a couple married, according to an index reference, you should obtain a copy of that marriage record. The marriage record may provide details not included in an index or transcript.
There are four basic options for obtaining a copy of the marriage record:
- Welsh parish registers on microfilm
- County Record Offices in Wales
- National Library of Wales
Church marriage records contain[edit | edit source]
- Name of the groom
- Name of the bride
- Date of marriage
- Marital condition (bachelor, spinster, widower, widow) after 1753
- Names of witnesses, signatures, and place of residence
- Whether married by banns or license
Tips[edit | edit source]
- Some existing parish registers did not get indexed or have images published on FamilySearch and Findmypast. A list of the missing parishes is being prepared.
- County family history societies have the most complete marriage indexes.
- Some Welsh people married in England. Boyd's Marriage Index or county indexes for England may help you find a missing marriage.
- Remember that spellings for places and names may vary over time.
- Consider the possibility that the persons being searched for may have been using patronymics.
- Search for the variant versions of the name being sought.
- David / Davis / Davies
- Evan / Evans
- John / Jones
- A couple may not have married in the county where they lived. If the marriage is not found in the expected county try indexes for the neighboring counties.