Sculcoates St Paul, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Sculcoates St Paul, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Sculcoates St Paul, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Sculcoates|
|Parish registers: 1846; Separate registers exist for Kingston upon Hull Christ Church, Worship Street beginning 1822|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None; Separate records exist for Kingston upon Hull Christ Church, Worship Street beginning 1822|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Sculcoates St Paul is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1844 from Sculcoates [All Saints, formerly St Mary;s] Ancient Parish; located on St Paul Street and Cannon Street. Other places in the parish include: Kingston upon Hull Christ Church, Worship Street.
SCULCOATES (St. Mary), a parish, and the head of a union, in the borough of Hull, locally in the East Riding of York.. A church district named St. Paul's was formed in July 1844 by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Sculcoates St. Paul exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|Sculcoates St Paul Ecclesiastical (1538) Online Parish Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Sculcoates St. Paul to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Sculcoates St. Paul page.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 34-36. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 October 2013.