Scott County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Scott County, Minnesota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Shakopee[1]
Organized: March 5, 1858[2]
Parent County(s): Dakota[3]
Neighboring Counties
Carver  • Dakota  • Hennepin  • Le Sueur  • Rice  • Sibley
See County Maps
Courthouse
Minnesota, Scott County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Minnesota Scott County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for General Winfield Scott. The County is located in the east-central area of the state.[4]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Scott County Courthouse
428 S Holmes St
Shakopee, MN 55379
Phone:. 952-496-8200
Scott County Website

County Recorder has birth and death records from 1871, marriage records from 1856, land records from 1850’s, military discharge records from 1950.
Clerk Court has divorce and probate records from 1850’s, court records from 1880.[5]

Scott County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1871 1856 1871 1880 1850s 1850s 1836
*Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Scott County, Minnesota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For links to Federal, State, and Territorial censuses, see Minnesota Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 4,595
1870 11,042 140.3%
1880 13,516 22.4%
1890 13,831 2.3%
1900 15,147 9.5%
1910 14,888 −1.7%
1920 14,245 −4.3%
1930 14,116 −0.9%
1940 15,585 10.4%
1950 16,486 5.8%
1960 21,909 32.9%
1970 32,423 48.0%
1980 43,784 35.0%
1990 57,846 32.1%
2000 89,498 54.7%
2010 129,928 45.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information, see Minnesota Church Records.

Lutheran

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Shakopee, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Scott County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Hennepin CountyDakota CountyRice CountyLe Sueur CountySibley CountyCarver CountyMN SCOTT.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Multiple Wars

Civil War

Civil War service men from Scott County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Scott County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A and C.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company L.
- 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company A.
- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company E.
- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I.
- 9th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I
- Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company C.

Spanish-American War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Since Minnesota tax records include only persons who owned taxable property, many residents were not included. Still they complement land records and can be used in place of missing censuses or the years between censuses. There may also be gaps. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Scott County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Scott County. For state-wide library facilities, see Minnesota Archives and Libraries.

Scott County Library
1615 Weston Ct
Shakopee, MN 55379
952-496-8010
Branches:
Belle Plaine Library
Elko New Market Library
Jordan Library
New Prague Library-collections
Prior Lake Library
Savage Library-Heritage Room
Shakopee Library
E-mail: jgrussing@scottlib.org
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Scott County Historical Society Museum
235 Fuller St S
Shakopee, Minnesota 55379
952-445-0378
Email: info@scottcountyhistory.org
Website

Hooper-Bowler-Hillstrom House Museum
PO Box 73
410 N Cedar St
Belle Plaine, MN 56011
952-873-6109
Website

Jordan History Center
PO Box 1
116 East 1st Street
Jordan, MN 55352
612-719-9818
Email: jhcsecretary@gmail.com

The Landing – Minnesota River Heritage Park / Three Rivers Park District and Museum
2187 E Highway 101
Shakopee, MN 55379
763-694-7784
Email: bill.walker@threeriversparks.org
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Scott County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Minnesota Societies.

Scott County Historical Society
235 S Fuller St
Shakopee, MN 55379
952-445-0378 or 888-325-2575
Website

Belle Plaine Historical Society
PO Box 73
410 N Cedar Ave
Belle Plaine, MN 56011-0073
952-873-6109
Facebook

New Prague Area Historical Society
1745 1st Avenue SE
New Prague, MN 56071-4008
952-758-2201
Email: npareahistory@gmail.com
Website

Dan Patch Historical Society
13090 Alabama Ave S
PO Box 155
Savage, MN 55378
952-890-5260
Email: questions@danpatch.com
Website

Jordan Area Historical Society (JAHS)
116 East 1st Street
PO Box 1
Jordan, MN 55352
612-719-9818
Email: jhcsecretary@gmail.com

Lydia Area Historical Society
1375 East 205th Street
Jordan, MN 55352
952-492-6173
Facebook

Shakopee Heritage Society
2109 Boulder Pointe
Shakopee, MN 55379
952-693-3865
Email: info@shakopeeheritage.org
Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 2/20/2021.
  3. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 2/20/2021.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Scott County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scott_County,_Minnesota accessed 14 Nov 2018
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Minnesota Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 2/20/2021.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Minnesota.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Scott County, Minnesota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scott_County,_Minnesota, accessed 19 February 2020.