Scott County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Scott County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Scott County

Guide to Scott County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Scott County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Scott County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 5, 1833
County Seat Waldron
Courthouse
ArkansasScottCourthouse.jpg
Address Scott County Courthouse
100 W 1 St Ste 1;
Waldron, AR 72958
Phone: 501.637.2155


County Courthouse

Scott County Courthouse
100 W 1 St Ste 1;
Waldron, AR 72958
Phone: 501.637.2155

County and and Circuit Clerk has marriave, divorce, probate, land and court records from 1882.[1]

Beginning years for Scott County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1882 1914* 1882 1882 1882
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

County seat: Waldron [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1882 A courthouse fire on 22 May 1882 destroyed all county records.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

LeFlore County, Oklahoma  • Logan  • Montgomery  • Polk  • Sebastian  • Yell  •

Scott CountySebastian CountyJohnson CountyFranklin CountyCrawford CountyLogan CountyYell CountyPope CountyPike CountyHot Spring CountyClark CountyPerry CountyMontgomery CountyMcCurtain CountyPushmataha CountyLatimer CountySequoyah CountyHaskell CountyHoward CountyPolk CountyGarland CountyLe Flore CountyARScott1.JPG


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Scott County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Online Scott County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Scott County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Scott County AR Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Memphis riots and massacres. Washington, D.C.: G.P.O., 1866. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Scott County on page 191.]
Civil War
  • History of Scott County, Arkansas by Henry Grady McCutchen Chapter VI


Regiments. Service men in Scott County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Scott County, Arkansas Genealogy:


- 1st Battalion, Arkansas Cavalry (Stirman's) (Confederate), Company H
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company D
- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate), Companies A and I
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[5], Company E

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Scott County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Scott County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Scott County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Scott County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Scott County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Scott County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 70.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wes Goodner, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=805&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “Scott County.”
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.