Sco Ruston St Michael, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Sco Ruston St Michael, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Sco Ruston St Michael is a parish in the Waxham deanery and Tunstead Hundred of the Diocese of Norwich. This was never a populous parish and its parishioners were gradually subsumed into neighbouring Scottow, Norfolk & Tunstead, Norfolk.
The mediaeval church was photographed in ruin in 1978 by George Plunkett (see web link below) before it was deroofed and became covered in ivy.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Tunstead 1837-1869
- Smallburgh 1870-1938
- North Walsham 1939-1974
Church records[edit | edit source]
Sco Ruston St Michael, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free|
|Sco Ruston St Michael, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited parish registers at Norfolk Record Office reference PD 258/ 1-7 1707-1967
Census records[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/ScoRuston.htm transcript of 1891 census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
For Tunstead and Happing see http://www.workhouses.org.uk/Smallburgh/
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Norfolk: Sco Ruston on GenUKI
- Church Historic Photos on George Plunkett's website
- Sco-Ruston Tunstead (The village website)