To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt, German Empire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt
Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt,
German Empire
Wiki Topics
225
Getting Started
Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt
Major Record Types
Reading the Records
Additional
Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt
Record Types
Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt
Background
Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt
Research Resources
Germany Record Types
Germany Background


Guide to Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt, German Empire ancestry, family history, and genealogy before 1945: birth records, marriage records, death records, both church and civil registration, compiled family history, and finding aids.

Thuringia ORP.png {{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Historical Background[edit | edit source]

Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt was a small historic state in present-day Thuringia, Germany, with its capital at Rudolstadt. In 1597, the two counties of Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt and Schwarzburg-Sondershausen were established by the 1599 Treaty of Stadtilm. It joined the Confederation of the Rhine in 1807, the German Confederation in 1815, and the German Empire in 1871. On 23 November 1918, during the German Revolution of 1918–1919 and the fall of all the German monarchies, Prince Günther Victor was the last to abdicate. The former principality became a "Free State" in 1919, that was merged into the new state of Thuringia in the next year. Wikipedia

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Germany Research

Links to articles on getting started with German research:

See More Research Strategies

Germany Research Tools

Links to tools and websites that assist in German research:

See More Research Tools

Historical Geography[edit | edit source]

Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt within the German Empire

German Empire - Schwarzburg Rudolstadt (1871).svg.png

Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt within Thuringia (Thüringen) 1871-1920

SR in TH.png

Former States of the German Empire Now in the State of Thuringia (Thüringen)

800px-THUERINGEN.png

Screen Shot 2019-10-10 at 3.03.26 PM.png Screen Shot 2019-10-10 at 3.03.54 PM.png Screen Shot 2019-10-08 at 10.04.54 PM.png

To enlarge the map, click on this image. A second and third click will enlarge it further. Enlarge the view even further by zooming in with your browser.



History of Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt in the German Empire
Geo-Political Differences Today
FamilySearch Catalog
(organized by 1871 Meyer's Gazetteer)
Wiki Pages

Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt 

1920: Became part of the current state of Thuringia (Thüringen), which was dissolved in 1952, and re-established in 1990. (Map)

Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt

Finding Birth, Marriage, and Death Records for Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt[edit | edit source]

Most of the information you need to identify you ancestors and their families will be found in two major record groups: civil registration and church records. To locate these records, follow the instructions in these Wiki articles.

1. Find the name of your ancestor's town in family history records.[edit | edit source]

Records were kept on the local level. You must know the town where your ancestor lived. If your ancestor was a United States Immigrant, use the information in the Wiki article Germany Finding Town of Origin to find evidence of the name of the town where your ancestors lived in Germany.
Also, see:

2. Use gazetteers and/or parish register inventories to learn more important details.[edit | edit source]

Your ancestor's town might have been too small to have its own parish church or civil registration office. Find the location of the Catholic or Lutheran (Evangelical) parish that served your ancestor's locality. Find the name of the civil registration office (Standesamt) that serves your ancestor's locality. Use the Wiki article Finding Aids For German Records for step-by-step instructions.

Germany was first unified as a nation in 1871. An important gazetteer, Meyers Orts- und Verkehrs-lexikon des deutschen Reichs, "Meyer's Gazetter" for short, details the place names of villages, towns, counties (kreise), and higher jurisdictions used at that time. In the Research Wiki, FamilySearch Catalog, and FamilySearch Historical Records, the records of Germany are organized using those place names.

You can also consult Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt Parish Record Inventories to learn the Lutheran or Catholic parish that would have kept records for your town.


At the end of both World Wars, the boundaries of the states were changed dramatically, as areas of Germany were distributed among the Allied nations. Eventually, after re-unification in 1990, the states of Germany settled into what they are today. It is also necessary to understand Germany by this system, as it affects the locations of civil registration offices, archives, and mailing addresses used in correspondence searches.

3. For birth, marriage, and death records after 1 January 1876, use civil registration.[edit | edit source]

Follow the instructions in Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt, German Empire Civil Registration.

4. For baptism, marriage, and death records, use church records or parish registers.[edit | edit source]

Follow the instructions in Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt, German Empire Church Records.


More Research Strategies and Tools[edit | edit source]