Schleswig-Holstein Census
| Schleswig-Holstein, German Empire Topics | |
 | |
| Getting Started | |
| Major Schleswig-Holstein Record Types | |
| Reading the Records | |
| Additional Schleswig-Holstein Record Types | |
| Schleswig-Holstein Background | |
| Ethnicity | |
| Local Research Resources | |
| Germany Record Types | |
| Germany Background | |
Contents
Online Instruction[edit | edit source]
- Schleswig-Holstein Censuses - Instruction
Census Years[edit | edit source]
Denmark ruled all of Schleswig-Holstein, including Lübeck and parts of Hamburg and Oldenburg, until 1864. Denmark took several censuses of this area.
Census of 1769: (South Schleswig (Sydslesvig), Dithmarschen, and Holstein. Lauenburg not included.)
Census of 1803: (South Schleswig (Sydslesvig), Dithmarschen, and Holstein. Lauenburg not included.)
Census of 1835: (South Schleswig (Sydslesvig), Dithmarschen, and Holstein. Lauenburg not included.)
Census of 1840: (South Schleswig (Sydslesvig), Dithmarschen, and Holstein. Lauenburg not included.)
Census of 1845: (All included))
Census of 1855: (All included))
Census of 1860: (South Schleswig (Sydslesvig), Dithmarschen, and Holstein. Lauenburg not included.)
Census of 1864: (Holstein and Lauenburg)
Content[edit | edit source]
The censuses are written in either German or Danish, sometimes with both on the same page. The information contained in the censuses varies according to which year it was taken:
- 1769. This census names the head of each household and the number of people in the house, grouped by age and sex. It did not take military personnel into account, neither will the researcher find information from estates, monestaries and the Gottorf areas. Most of these lists were lost.
- 1803-1864. Censuses taken from 1803 to 1864 list each person's name, residence, position in the family, age, marital status, and occupation.
- 1845 and later censuses. From 1845 on, each census also lists birthplace, the parish of the birthplace, and the length of residency at the census place.
Census Headings with English Translations[edit | edit source]
Danish censuses have standardized column headings, which allowed the census taker to record the requested information in the correct place. Click on the following links to bring up the census headings. The Danish wording AND the English translations will appear. By knowing what is asked for in the various census years, you will be able to better plan your research strategy.
|
Danish Census Headings 1787 and 1801 Danish Census Headings 1834 and 1840 Finding Census Records[edit | edit source]The original records are in different archives today. The 1769 census information is in different local archives. The records for the 1803, 1860 (Holstein), and 1864 are in the State Archive Schleswig-Holstein. The originals of other censuses are in the State Archive Copenhagen. It is often difficult to determine which village belongs to what census district. A good source to find jurisdictions are the two volumes v. Schröder and Biernatzki published: "Topographie des Herzogthums Schleswig" (1854) and "Topographie der Herzogthümer Holstein und Lauenburg" (1855) which can also be found online Online Records[edit | edit source]
An ongoing project is indexing these records. Progress in the indexing is reported monthly in a chart found at KIP Projektet. By clicking on the desired county and year field in the table, you can see a map of which areas have been indexed. FamilySearch[edit | edit source]The following are available at FamilySearch, partial index: MyHeritage[edit | edit source]The following are available at MyHeritage, partial index ($):
Research Tutorials at FamilySearch[edit | edit source]
Searching Census Records[edit | edit source]When searching census records, remember the following:
To understand what is being asked for in Schleswig-Holstein censuses see the three examples below:
|
